In the matter of an application by Thomas William Raymond Towle for leave to issue or file [2026] HCASJ 31 (4 September 2026)
Last Updated: 4 September 2026
HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA
GLEESON J
IN THE MATTER OF AN APPLICATION BY THOMAS WILLIAM RAYMOND TOWLE FOR
LEAVE TO ISSUE OR FILE
[2026] HCASJ 31
Date of Judgment: 4 September
2026
A28 of 2026
ORDER
- The
application for leave to issue or file an application for a constitutional or
other writ is refused.
Representation
The plaintiff is unrepresented
GLEESON J.
Introduction
- Pursuant
to r 6.07.3 of the High Court Rules 2004 (Cth) and by application
filed on 11 August 2026, the applicant seeks leave to have issued or
filed an application for a constitutional
or other writ ("the proposed
application"). The substantive relief sought comprises several orders concerning
the applicant's entitlement
to amounts in respect of a disability support
pension ("the disability pension") granted under the Social Security Act
1991 (Cth) ("the Act"), particularly for the period 8 July 2016 to
27 August 2018, and including the possible correction or setting aside
of "any overpayment or debt" of the disability pension during the period
26 June 2013 until 23 October 2019. The proposed respondents
are the Secretary, Department of Social Services ("the Secretary") and the
Commonwealth (together, "the proposed respondents").
- In
support of his application for leave, the applicant filed: (1) an affidavit
made by him on 16 July 2026; (2) a second affidavit
made by him
on 16 July 2026, entitled "Affidavit exhibiting documents in support
of Form 12 application"; (3) two bundles of exhibits
comprising,
respectively, 57 and 19 pages; (4) a third affidavit made by him on
7 August 2026; and (5) a document entitled "Originating
submission" dated 12 July 2026 (collectively, "the filed
materials").
- The
proposed application is expressed to concern "administrative treatment from
about 24/12/2015 and its continuing consequences"
and "any past or present de
facto couple-status treatment of the [applicant] for any period from 26/06/2013
and prior to 23/10/2019,
including for suspension, arrears, overpayment, debt or
review consequences, unless that treatment is founded upon a lawful application
of s 4 of the [Act]".
- Section 4
is entitled "Family relationships definitions—couples". At all relevant
times, s 4(2) provided that, subject to s 4(3), a person is a member
of a couple for the purposes of the Act if certain criteria were satisfied. The
only criterion that was capable
of applying to the applicant is s 4(2)(b)
which relevantly required, by s 4(2)(b)(i), that the applicant had a
relationship with another person and, by s 4(2)(b)(iii), that relationship
was, in the Secretary's opinion (formed as mentioned in ss 4(3) and 4(3A)),
a de facto relationship. Section 4(3) of the Act provided that,
in forming an opinion about the relationship between two people for the purposes
of s 4(2)(b)(iii), the Secretary "is to have regard to all the
circumstances of the relationship" including "in particular", the matters
specified
in s 4(3). Section 4(3A) of the Act provided that the
Secretary must not form the opinion that the relationship between a person and
his or her partner is
a de facto relationship if the person is living separately
and apart from the partner on a permanent or indefinite basis.
- The
applicant makes two complaints about his "treatment" by the Departments that
administered the Act from time to time, namely that:
(1) the treatment
proceeded on an “erroneous administrative premise” that on
24 December 2015, the applicant told the
Department of Human Services
("the DHS") that he and Ms Chang were in a de facto relationship from
27 June 2013; and (2) the applicant
was treated as a member of a
couple within the meaning of s 4(2)(b) of the Act without the Secretary
undertaking the inquiry required by ss 4(3) and 4(3A) of the Act.
- For
the reasons that follow, leave to issue or file the proposed application will be
refused. In short, the proposed application
has no prospects of
success.
Background facts
- The
following facts and observations are drawn from the proposed application, the
filed materials and public records of decisions
of the then Administrative
Appeals Tribunal ("the Tribunal") and the Federal Court of Australia. For
the purposes of this application,
I have assumed the correctness of the facts
contained in the proposed application, except where those facts are plainly
inconsistent
with the filed materials. I have not adopted any finding of fact of
either the Tribunal or the Federal Court, except where that fact
is alleged by
the applicant.
- On
27 June 1996, the applicant was first granted a disability
pension.
- On
27 June 2013, Ms Chang first entered Australia on a "temporary
subclass 417 Working Holiday visa." On 13 July 2013, the
applicant
and Ms Chang met. In a statutory declaration, not included in the
filed materials but which was recited from and recorded in the
transcript of
earlier Tribunal proceedings, the applicant said:
"Our relationship
began in 2013, and we have lived together for six years."
- On
21 December 2015, Ms Chang signed a form completed by her and the
applicant. In answer to questions about her current relationship
status,
Ms Chang marked a box next to the words "Partnered (living together in an
opposite-sex or same-sex relationship including
de facto)" and nominated the
date that she and the applicant "started living together" as 25 or
29 October 2013.
- On
24 December 2015, a Manager of the DHS wrote to the applicant, stating
relevantly:
"I am writing to you about your Disability Support
Pension. You will be paid the rate for a single person, even though you have a
partner. The reason for this is that your partner is unable to claim an income
support payment due to her [v]isa and she does not
have any income and assets to
support you."
- At
least to this point, although the 24 December 2015 letter stated that
the applicant had a partner, there is no evidence that this
status affected his
"treatment" for the purposes of the disability pension. To the contrary, the
24 December 2015 letter states that
the applicant would be treated as
a single person for the purpose of paying him the disability pension.
- On
30 June 2016, a customer services adviser in the DHS sent the
applicant a questionnaire seeking answers to questions including
as to the
applicant's relationship with Ms Chang and Ms Chang's employment
status and income. On 6 July 2016, the applicant completed
the
questionnaire. He answered "yes" to the question "Do you still consider yourself
partnered to [Ms] Chang?" In answer to the request
"Please describe how
your partner is financially supported", the applicant answered "She uses her
savings, some casual work and I
also contribute to her support". In answer to
the request "Please describe your partner's employment status", the applicant
answered
"I am not privy to her bank accounts or any income...". In answer to
the request "Please provide payslips for all work your partner
has done in the
last three months, the applicant answered "She is not a permanent resident. I am
not privy to her private information.
Centrelink does not support her."
- On
8 July 2016, the applicant's pension was suspended
("the suspension decision"). The applicant contends that the suspension
decision
was a "consequence of the impugned de facto couple-status
treatment." An internal DHS record, dated 14 July 2016, contains the
following
note:
"Customer will not provide partners [sic] employment
details/ amount earnt each fortnight ... Customer needs to be strongly advised
that he is clearly partnered and they have applied for a partner visa which is
pending the outcome. In order for Centrelink to pay
customer [d]isability
payment we are required to have all information requested for both customer and
his partner regardless if she
is herself receiving a payment."
- On
26 July 2016, an Authorised Review Officer ("ARO") of the Appeals
Branch of the DHS wrote to the applicant to advise him that
the suspension
decision was affirmed. The findings of fact included the following fact ("the
erroneous fact"):
"On 24 December 2015 you provided to the
department your partner's details advising that you became partnered to [Ms
Chang] on 27
June 2013."
- The
26 July 2016 letter contained written reasons for the ARO's decision,
which concluded:
"On 6 July 2016 you returned the request for
information to the department. You confirmed that you are still partnered to [Ms
Chang]
and that she is financially supported by her savings, casual work and by
you.
You failed to provide to the department copies of your partner's payslips or
a letter from her employer/s. In response to this request
you said that your
partner is not a permanent resident, you are not privy to her private
information and Centrelink does not support
her.
The request made by the department was not unreasonable. As already
mentioned, this information is required to calculate your ongoing
rate of
Disability Support Pension.
As you failed to provide all of the requested information your ongoing rate
of Disability Support Pension could not be established
and your entitlement to
the payment was correctly suspended. The payment will cancel at a future
date."
- On 13 December 2016,
Ms Chang was granted a temporary partner visa.
- The
ARO's decision to affirm the suspension decision was affirmed on external review
by the Tribunal (Social Services and Child Support
Division) and the Tribunal's
decision was subsequently affirmed by the Tribunal (General
Division).[1]
On 28 March 2018, the applicant's appeal to the Federal Court
pursuant to s 44 of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal Act 1975
(Cth) was dismissed.[2]
On 20 August 2018, the applicant's appeal from the
decision of the Federal Court was dismissed by a Full Court of the Federal
Court.[3]
- The
reasons of the Full Court record a submission by the applicant that, since
Ms Chang did not hold a permanent partner visa (although
she had applied
for one), he should have been treated as a single person for disability support
pension purposes and, accordingly,
there was no occasion for the suspension of
his pension.[4] Logan J
(Farrell and Thawley JJ agreeing) observed that this contention "looks to
have been the subject dealt with expressly by the
Tribunal."[5] Logan J
concluded that there was no necessary inconsistency between the absence of a
partner visa and the formation of an opinion
that the person lacking a partner
visa is a member of a couple within the meaning of s 4 of the
Act.[6] As it could not be said
that Ms Chang's visa status was determinative of whether the applicant and
Ms Chang were in a de facto relationship,
the questions asked in the
30 June 2016 questionnaire were lawful and the conclusion of the
Tribunal (General Division) that the
questions had not been answered was one
that was open for that Tribunal to
make.[7]
- The
applicant sought an extension of time within which to apply for special leave to
appeal to this Court from the judgment of the
Full Court. On
20 March 2019, that application was
refused.[8]
- On
28 August 2018, the applicant was notified that his disability pension
was cancelled. The cancellation decision led to review proceedings,
in which the applicant ultimately succeeded in having the decision set
aside.[9]
- The
proposed application alleges that the "remaining suspended part" of the
disability pension was restored with effect from 27 June
1996.
However, the proposed application also refers to an "underpayment and arrears
issue" for the period 8 July 2016 to 27 August
2018, which
is said not to be "advanced as a separate merits dispute, but as a continuing
consequence of the alleged jurisdictional
error." In Towle v The
Commonwealth,[10]
McDonald J dismissed summarily the applicant's application for judicial
review of multiple decisions concerning his disability pension
entitlements
between 2016 and 2023. His Honour observed that it was unclear from the
available material why the Tribunal decided
that the payment of arrears should
not cover the period 8 July 2016 to 27 August 2018. His
Honour was evidently concerned that the
Commonwealth and the Secretary "were not
able to explain the legal basis on which the Tribunal, in the circumstances of
[the applicant's]
case, could find the disability pension should be reinstated
from the date of the cancellation rather than from the date when it
was first
suspended."[11] This issue
may be at the heart of the applicant's grievances concerning his disability
pension, although the proposed application
seeks more extensive relief. It is
reasonable to assume, in the applicant's favour, that the applicant seeks
judicial review of decisions
that include decisions relating to unpaid amounts
of disability pension for the period 8 July 2016 to
27 August 2018.
- On
23 October 2019, Ms Chang was granted a permanent
subclass 801 partner visa. The applicant accepts that the relationship
between
him and Ms Chang should be treated as a de facto relationship
for social security purposes from the date of the permanent visa grant,
but not
before that date.
- The
proposed application alleges that, on 6 October 2022, Services
Australia acknowledged the applicant's underpayment and arrears
claim for
8 July 2016 to 27 August 2018. The filed materials show
that, by letter dated 6 October 2022, a Manager of Services Australia
acknowledged receipt of the applicant's application for a formal review of the
"decision made on 8 July 2016 not to pay you Disability
Support
Pension."
- By
letter dated 2 February 2023, an ARO of the Appeals and Review Branch
of Services Australia wrote to the applicant in the following
terms:
"Formal review of decision
On 6 October 2022 you requested a formal review of the decision to pay you
back payment of Disability Support Pension from 28 August
2018 to 29 March 2019
only, rather than for the period 8 July 2016 to 27 August 2018 and the
decision made not to pay you Mobility
Allowance at the higher rate for the
period 8 July 2016 to 27 August 2018.
Services Australia does not have legal authority to undertake a formal review
of these decisions. This is because these decisions
have previously been
reviewed by an Authorised Review Officer and the Social Services and Child
Support Division of the Administrative
Appeals Tribunal (AAT1). Accordingly the
review has been deleted."
- On
7 July 2023, at a directions hearing in the Tribunal, the applicant
sought a direction that the Secretary produce documents concerning
the erroneous
fact. The Secretary's lawyer, Mr Visser, acknowledged that the erroneous
fact was an error. The Tribunal member stated
that there were no relevant
documents and Mr Visser did not disagree. On 19 July 2023, Mr
Visser wrote an email to the Tribunal which
included the
following:
"With regard to request A - The Respondent cannot
locate 'records of interview of Ms Ya-Fen Chang AND Thomas W R Towle
which contain their individual responses above their individual signature,
to
the questions enacted in the Social Security Act (Cwth) particularly at sections
4(3) and s4(3A) the guide to determining if a person is in a de facto
relationship with another person'." [sic]
- The
applicant contends that the erroneous fact exposed him to "administrative
consequences including alleged overpayment or debt
consequences founded upon"
the erroneous fact. Nothing in the filed materials evidences any claim against
the applicant to recover
overpayment of his disability pension or any demand for
monies allegedly owing by the applicant in respect of the disability
pension.
The relevant principles
- The
discretion to refuse the leave sought by the applicant is to be exercised by
reference to the criteria set out in r 6.07.1, namely
whether the proposed
application "appears ... "on its face" to be an abuse of the process of the
Court, to be frivolous or vexatious
or to fall outside the jurisdiction of the
Court."[12] Implicit in the
requirement that a document the subject of an application under r 6.07.3 be
considered "on its face" is that such
an application falls to be determined on
the papers,[13] that is,
without an oral hearing. While there are no "closed categories" of what amounts
to an abuse of process, the concept includes
attempts to invoke the jurisdiction
of the Court on bases that are confused or manifestly
untenable,[14] or to
relitigate a case that has been disposed of by earlier
proceedings.[15]
Consideration
- The
proposed application is centred on the two complaints identified at [5] above.
In effect, the applicant complains that various
decisions and conduct by the
proposed respondents involved jurisdictional error by reason of one or both of
the two complaints.
- The
first complaint concerns the erroneous fact. An error of fact only rarely
amounts to jurisdictional error, and this will generally
occur where a decision
is to be treated as invalid if the fact does not exist. In this case, there is
no arguable case that the erroneous
fact affected any decision concerning the
applicant's disability pension, with the exception of the internal review of the
ARO who
affirmed the suspension decision. Even then, that decision was affirmed
on an external review, and the first external review decision
was also affirmed
by a second external review decision. The result is that the operative decision
in respect of the suspension of
the applicant's disability pension is the second
external review decision.[16]
The second external review decision does not include a finding in accordance
with the erroneous fact.[17]
Accordingly, to the extent that the proposed application is based upon a
contention that the erroneous fact is capable of amounting
to jurisdictional
error, it is manifestly untenable.
- The
second complaint is that the applicant was treated as a member of a couple
within the meaning of s 4(2)(b) of the Act without the Secretary
undertaking the inquiry required by ss 4(3) and 4(3A) of the Act. The
proposed application does not allege a failure to undertake the mandated inquiry
at a particular point or points
in time, and the applicant alleges no facts from
which it might be inferred that the relevant Secretary (or their delegate) did
not
comply with ss 4(3) and 4(3A) of the Act at any relevant time. The
absence of records of interview with the applicant and Ms Chang, discovered
in July 2023,
could not of itself support an inference of
non‑compliance with ss 4(3) and 4(3A). The filed materials do
not contain an allegation or evidence that the applicant was never interviewed
about the matters in ss 4(3) and 4(3A).
- Although
it is not entirely clear, the applicant may contend that, prior to
23 October 2019 when Ms Chang obtained her permanent
partner visa, no
opinion could lawfully have been formed that the relationship between the
applicant and Ms Chang was a de facto
relationship. Any such
contention must fail because, as the Full Court held, Ms Chang's visa status was
not determinative of whether
there was a de facto relationship for the purposes
of s 4 of the Act.[18]
As this issue has been litigated, it would be an abuse of process to attempt to
relitigate it.
- If
there is any arguable claim that the plaintiff can make for the
non‑payment of the disability pension during the period
8 July 2016 to 27 August 2018, it is not apparent from the
proposed application. As explained below, there is no arguable basis for
any of
the asserted substantive claims for relief. If there are no prospects of
succeeding upon a substantive claim, it necessarily
follows that consequential
relief could not be granted.
- The
first substantive claim seeks a writ of mandamus, or similar relief, "requiring
the Secretary to deal according to law with the
legal and financial consequences
of the impugned administrative treatment, including [the disability pension]
suspension, restoration
and arrears without treating migration-law material or
s 24 as having supplied or displaced the anterior inquiry required by
s 4 of [the Act]." The reference to "migration-law material" appears
to be a reference to Ms Chang's temporary partner visa and to s 5CB of
the Migration Act 1958 (Cth). Section 5CB defines the concept of a
"de facto partner" for the purposes of the Migration Act. The
applicant contends that the Secretary "conflated the migration-law inquiry under
s 5CB" with the "distinct social-security inquiry under s 4" of the
Act. As the applicant has not identified an arguable basis for a finding that
there was a failure to conduct the "anterior
inquiry required by s 4" in
connection with any decision or conduct that adversely affected the applicant,
there is no prospect that the Court might grant
this relief.
- The
second substantive claim is for a writ of certiorari, or similar relief,
quashing the 24 December 2015 "decision" to the extent
that the
applicant was treated as a member of a de facto couple. As framed, the
claim reflects the fact that the applicant does not
cavil with payments made to
him at the rate for a single person, but only with the finding that the
applicant had a partner. Whether
there was an error made in finding that fact as
at 24 December 2015, the "decision" was immaterial because it was
accompanied by
a decision to pay the applicant disability pension at the rate
for a single person.
- The
third substantive claim seeks relief in respect of the erroneous fact. As
explained above, there is no arguable basis for finding
that this error was
jurisdictional so as to invoke the exercise of this Court's supervisory
jurisdiction.
- The
fourth substantive claim, seeks a writ of prohibition "preventing the Secretary
from maintaining, enforcing, or giving continuing
legal effect to any past or
present de facto couple-status treatment" to the applicant in the period from
26 June 2013 to 23 October
2019. Prohibition is a remedy
that can be granted when there is something remaining to
prohibit.[19] In the absence
of any alleged threatened excess of power, or continuation of an unlawful course
of action, the remedy has no potential
application.
- The
other substantive relief sought is declaratory. In essence, the applicant seeks
declarations that migration materials provided
by Ms Chang to government
officials could not "determine, displace or substitute" the "distinct ...
inquiry" under the Act, and that
the "mandated anterior inquiry" under s 4
of the Act is not to be determined by reference to migration law. These claims
appear to challenge the decision of the Full Court
that visa status is relevant
to but not determinative of the question whether a person is a member of a
couple for the purposes of
social security law. Special leave to appeal was
refused from that decision. In any event, the alleged facts do not indicate that
declarations in the terms sought could have any
utility.
Order
- The
application for leave to issue or file an application for a constitutional or
other writ is
refused.
[1] Towle and Secretary, Department
of Social Services (Social services second review) [2017] AATA 565 at [15],
[35]; Towle v The Commonwealth (2025) 88 AAR 295 at 299
[7]-[8].
[2] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2018] FCA 407; (2018) 75 AAR 288.
[3] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2018] FCAFC 171; (2018) 264 FCR 127.
[4] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2018] FCAFC 171; (2018) 264 FCR 127 at 132 [18].
[5] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2018] FCAFC 171; (2018) 264 FCR 127 at 132 [18].
[6] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2018] FCAFC 171; (2018) 264 FCR 127 at 132 [21].
[7] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2018] FCAFC 171; (2018) 264 FCR 127 at 133 [23].
[8] Towle v Secretary, Department
of Social Services [2019] HCASL 51.
[9] Towle v The Commonwealth
(2025) 88 AAR 295 at 300 [12]‑[13].
[10] (2025) 88 AAR 295.
[11] Towle v The Commonwealth
(2025) 88 AAR 295 at 300 [14].
[12] Re Young [2020] HCA 13; (2020) 94 ALJR
448 at 451 [11]; [2020] HCA 13; 376 ALR 567 at 570.
[13] Re Young [2020] HCA 13; (2020) 94 ALJR
448 at 451 [12]; [2020] HCA 13; 376 ALR 567 at 570.
[14] Re Young [2020] HCA 13; (2020) 94 ALJR
448 at 451 [13]; [2020] HCA 13; 376 ALR 567 at 570.
[15] Walton v Gardiner (1993)
177 CLR 378.
[16] cf Plaintiff M174/2016 v
Minister for Immigration and Border Protection [2018] HCA 16; (2018) 264 CLR 217 at 241-242
[70]; FEL17 v Minister for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs [2025] HCA 13; (2025)
99 ALJR 775 at 779 [16]; 422 ALR 334 at 339.
[17] Towle and Secretary,
Department of Social Services (Social services second review) [2017] AATA
565.
[18] Towle v Secretary,
Department of Social Services [2018] FCAFC 171; (2018) 264 FCR 127 at 132 [21].
[19] R v Hibble; Ex parte The
Broken Hill Proprietary Company Limited [1920] HCA 83; (1920) 28 CLR 456 at 463.