Moltoni Corporation Pty Ltd v QBE Insurance Ltd [2001] HCA 73 (13 December 2001)
Last Updated: 26 November 2013
HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA
GLEESON CJ,
GAUDRON, McHUGH, KIRBY AND HAYNE JJ
MOLTONI CORPORATION PTY LTD APPELLANT
AND
QBE INSURANCE LTD RESPONDENT
Moltoni Corporation Pty Ltd v QBE Insurance Ltd
[2001] HCA 73
13 December 2001
P92/2000
ORDER
- Appeal
allowed with costs.
- Set
aside orders of the Full Court of the Supreme Court of Western Australia made on
3 April 2000 and in lieu thereof order that the
appeal to that Court be
dismissed with costs.
- Respondent
to have special leave to cross-appeal. Cross-appeal treated as instituted and
heard instanter and dismissed with costs.
On appeal from the Supreme Court of Western Australia
Representation:
D F Jackson QC with G R Hancy for the appellant (instructed by Blake Dawson
Waldron)
F M Douglas QC with G R Donaldson for the respondent (instructed by Kott
Gunning)
Notice: This copy of the Court's Reasons for Judgment is subject to formal
revision prior to publication in the Commonwealth Law
Reports.
CATCHWORDS
Moltoni Corporation Pty Ltd v QBE Insurance Ltd
Insurance – Contract of insurance – Employer indemnified by insurer
against liability arising from workplace injuries
– Condition of policy
required employer to give notice to insurer of personal injury suffered by
employee as soon as practicable
– Employer failed to inform insurer of
employee's injury as soon as practicable – Insurer's liability to be
reduced
under Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) by amount that fairly
represents extent to which insurer's interests prejudiced.
Insurance – Employer indemnified by insurer against liability arising both
at common law and under workers' compensation legislation
– Employer
sought indemnity against its liability to employee at common law – Whether
insurance contract entered into
for the purposes of a law that related to
workers' compensation and therefore exempt from operation of Insurance
Contracts Act 1984 (Cth).
Words and phrases – "extent to which the insurer's interests were
prejudiced" – "for the purposes of".
Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), ss 9, 54.
Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA), ss 5, 18,
160.
- GLEESON CJ,
GAUDRON, McHUGH, KIRBY AND HAYNE JJ. Section 54 of the Insurance
Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) ("the Insurance Contracts Act") provides that, in
some circumstances, an insurer may not refuse to pay a claim, even if the
contract of insurance would permit
that refusal, but that the insurer's
liability in respect of the claim is reduced. The liability is to be reduced
"by the amount
that fairly represents the extent to which the insurer's
interests were prejudiced" as a result of the act or omission that would
found
refusal under the contract. The principal issue in this case concerns the
operation of this provision for reduction in the
insurer's liability. The
respondent seeks special leave to cross-appeal to raise, as a further issue,
whether the Insurance Contracts Act applied to the contract of insurance which
the respondent made with the appellant.
The contract of insurance and the claim
- In
1986, the respondent issued a Workers' Compensation Policy of insurance ("the
Policy") to a company which, among other things,
traded under the name "Mainline
Demolition". That Policy was renewed each year and it was in force in November
1992. It was common
ground that, at all relevant times, the appellant was
insured under the Policy. An employee of the appellant ("the employee") alleged
that, in November 1992, he suffered injury in the course of his employment by
the appellant in its demolition business. The employee
brought an action
against the appellant, in the District Court of Western Australia, claiming
damages for negligence.
- The
Policy provided that if, during the period of insurance, a disability of any
worker of the appellant occurred in its demolition
business, and the
appellant:
"is legally liable to make any payment in respect of such disability under the
Workers' Compensation and Assistance Act
1981[[1]] as
amended ... the [respondent] will indemnify the [appellant] against the payments
for which the [appellant] is so liable"
together with certain costs and expenses. The Policy further provided that the
respondent would indemnify the appellant:
"against legal liability to pay damages ... at Common law for personal injury
sustained by any person employed by the [appellant]
under a contract of service
or apprenticeship if such injury is an injury in respect of which such person is
entitled to recover
from the [appellant] both compensation under the [Workers'
Compensation and Assistance Act] and (subject to Section 92 of the Act)
damages
independently thereof and if the [appellant] would be entitled to indemnity
hereunder in respect of any compensation so
recovered".
- It
was a condition of the Policy that the appellant should give notice to the
respondent of any personal injury suffered by an employee
"as soon as
practicable after information as to the happening of such, or of any incapacity
arising therefrom, comes to the knowledge"
of the appellant or a representative
of the appellant. The Policy provided that "due observance and fulfilment" of
the conditions
of the Policy was a condition precedent to any liability of the
respondent.
- The
appellant did not give to the respondent notice of the employee's injury until
6 April 1994 – about 17 months after it
happened. The respondent
denied that it was liable to indemnify the appellant against the employee's
claim. It alleged that the
appellant's failure to notify it of the employee's
claim as soon as practicable after it became aware of it had prejudiced it in
three ways. It alleged, first, that it lost "the opportunity to timeously
investigate the accident and the injuries allegedly sustained"
by the employee.
Secondly, it alleged that the employee had returned to work as a demolition
labourer, after the accident which
gave rise to the appellant's claim on the
Policy, and had then suffered another injury which prevented it properly
investigating
the injuries sustained in the accident which was the subject of
the claim. Thirdly, it alleged that, if it had been notified of
the accident in
accordance with the Policy, it would have arranged rehabilitation and medical
treatment for the employee different
from the treatment he was given.
The course of proceedings below
- At
trial, the employee succeeded in his claim against the appellant and obtained
judgment for $349,837 and costs. The appellant
succeeded in its claim against
the respondent and an order was made that the respondent indemnify the appellant
against its liability
under the judgment to the employee, together with the
reasonable costs and expenses it incurred in relation to the proceedings.
(Although the order is in peremptory terms – that the respondent
"indemnify" the appellant – it is, presumably, an order
intended to
operate as a declaration of right rather than an order for payment of an
unascertained sum of money.)
- The
respondent appealed to the Full Court of the Supreme Court of Western Australia
against the order for indemnity. By majority
(Ipp and Wallwork JJ;
Murray J dissenting), the Full Court ordered that the appeal be allowed and
that "the question of indemnity
in [the order of the District Court] be referred
back to the District Court for
retrial"[2].
- At
trial, the respondent relied principally upon evidence given by Mr Robert
Mitchelson, one of its former employees. He had been
its major claims
controller between 1987 and 1993 and had acted as its claims manager from time
to time. Mr Mitchelson gave evidence
of what the respondent would have
done if the appellant had given it notice of the employee's injury soon after it
happened. In
particular, he said that, ordinarily, within three months of
injury, an injured worker would be referred to a rehabilitation provider,
particularly when, as was the case with the appellant's employee, the worker had
been certified fit only for light duties. He could,
however, refer to no
example of this having been done. In addition, although the question of
referring a worker to a medical specialist
was within the discretion of the
person who dealt with a particular file on behalf of the respondent, the
respondent's policy was
to refer a worker to a specialist of its choice within
three months of receipt of a claim.
- Nevertheless,
the trial judge concluded that:
"[I]n circumstances where Mr Mitchelson's opinion was formed with the
benefit of hindsight, and given his inability to refer to comparable
cases ... I
simply do not feel persuaded to the requisite standard that any broad policy or
aim of the [respondent] was applied consistently,
or that had the [respondent]
then received a claim the [employee] would have been referred to either
rehabilitation or to a medical
specialist prior to the worsening of his symptoms
in November 1993."
The trial judge also rejected the respondent's contentions that it had lost the
opportunity to attempt an early settlement of the
claim and had incurred
additional legal or medical expenses.
- In
the Full Court, Wallwork J concluded that the trial judge did not deal
sufficiently in his reasons with the evidence of Mr Mitchelson
and that
"[e]rror is therefore
demonstrated"[3].
His Honour therefore found it unnecessary to deal with the contentions made in
the Full Court that, because the respondent had received
late notice of the
claim, it had lost a chance to investigate the claim, that the chance had some
value and that there was, therefore,
some prejudice to
it[4]. By
contrast, Ipp J, the other member of the majority, accepted these
contentions[5]
and it was on that basis that Ipp J allowed the respondent's appeal.
- By
special leave the appellant now appeals to this Court.
The statutory provision
- It
is as well to set out s 54(1) of the Insurance Contracts Act. It
provides:
"Subject to this section, where the effect of a contract of insurance would, but
for this section, be that the insurer may refuse
to pay a claim, either in whole
or in part, by reason of some act of the insured or of some other person, being
an act that occurred
after the contract was entered into but not being an act in
respect of which subsection (2) applies, the insurer may not refuse to
pay
the claim by reason only of that act but the insurer's liability in respect of
the claim is reduced by the amount that fairly
represents the extent to which
the insurer's interests were prejudiced as a result of that
act."
- Several
features of the provisions are to be noted. First, the reference to the insurer
being entitled to refuse to pay a claim
"by reason of some act" must be
understood in the light of s 54(6) which provides that a reference to an
"act" includes a reference to an omission.
- Secondly,
the act (or omission) may be "of the insured or of some other person". It
follows that the act or omission may, but need
not, constitute a breach of
contract by the insured.
- Thirdly,
the expression "the insurer's liability in respect of the claim is reduced by
the amount that fairly represents the extent"
of prejudice to the insurer
assumes that the consequences of the act or omission can be expressed in a money
sum. It is only by
expressing the consequences in monetary terms that the
liability can be reduced.
- Fourthly,
the relevant sum is to be quantified as the amount that "fairly represents the
extent to which the insurer's interests
were prejudiced as a result of that
act". The reference to "the extent to which the insurer's interests were
prejudiced" invites
attention to, and requires identification of, the amount of
damage which the insurer suffered as a result of the act or omission
in
question. Because the act or omission may not always constitute a breach of the
contract of insurance by the insured, that damage
will not always be
identifiable as the amount that would be allowed as compensatory damages on a
claim by the insurer for breach
of contract. Nonetheless, like an amount
allowed for compensatory damages for breach of contract, the amount of which
s 54(1) speaks, as fairly representing the extent to which the insured's
interests were prejudiced, will be the actual financial damage that
has been or
will be sustained as a result of the relevant act or omission.
- Lastly,
as was said in the joint reasons of this Court in Ferrcom Pty Ltd v
Commercial Union Assurance Co of Australia
Ltd[6]:
"The prejudice [to which s 54(1) refers] will consist in the existence of a
liability which, in whole or in part, would not have been borne by the insurer
if the
act had not been done or the omission had not been made or in the
non-receipt of an additional premium to which the insurer would
have been
entitled by reason of the doing of the act or the making of the
omission."
But as was also said in those
reasons[7]:
"[T]he liability imposed by s 54(1) on an insurer is not itself the
prejudice to be taken into account. If it were, s 54(1) would be
self-destructive."
Thus, although relevant prejudice may be found to consist in the existence of a
liability which would not have been borne if there
had not been the relevant act
or omission, the quantification of the amount representing the extent of
the insured's prejudice as a result of the act requires the identification of
what are the financial consequences that, in fact,
have been, or will be, caused
by that act or omission.
- If,
as was the case in Ferrcom, it can be shown that, had the relevant act or
omission not occurred, the insurer would have gone off risk altogether, the
amount
that fairly represents the prejudice suffered is the whole of the amount
claimed. By contrast, if the insurer would not have gone
off risk (as was the
case in the present matter) the relevant prejudice suffered is to be measured by
reference to what would have happened (as distinct from what could
or might have happened) if the act or omission had not occurred.
- In
the former kind of case, in which the insurer would have gone off risk, it is
entirely accurate to speak of the insurer having
lost, or having been deprived
of, the opportunity to do
so[8]. In the
latter kind of case, the language of lost opportunity may be equally accurate,
but its use may distract attention from the
need to identify what would have
happened if the act or omission had not occurred. In particular it may suggest,
wrongly, that it
is enough to point to some right that the insurer might
have exercised, without inquiring whether the right would have been
exercised.
- Yet
it is only if, first, the right would have been exercised, but was not,
and secondly the insurer has suffered resulting prejudice that can be
represented in monetary terms that the provision of s 54(1) allowing
reduction in the insurer's liability is engaged. If the right would not have
been exercised, the insurer has not suffered
prejudice, let alone prejudice that
can be measured in monetary terms. And in the setting of a trial, this last
proposition amounts
to saying that if the insurer does not prove, on the balance
of probabilities, that it would have exercised the right in question,
it fails
to demonstrate that its liability for the claim should be reduced.
The application of s 54
- In
the present case, the respondent had sought to establish prejudice in the three
forms noted earlier: "the opportunity to timeously
investigate the accident and
the [employee's] injuries", the intervening accident suffered by the employee on
his return to work,
and the lack of provision of different rehabilitation and
medical treatment. In this Court, and in the reasons of the majority in
the
Full Court, chief attention was directed to the third of these allegations
because it was argued that the provision of different
rehabilitation and medical
treatment would have followed from earlier investigation of the injuries and
would have avoided or ameliorated
the consequences of the return to work.
- At
trial the respondent had sought to prove, through the evidence of
Mr Mitchelson, what it would have done. The trial judge was
not persuaded
by this evidence. He concluded that it was affected by hindsight. Given the
inability of the respondent to point,
at trial, to a case similar to that of the
employee in which the action which Mr Mitchelson said would have been taken
in such a
case was taken, it was well open to the judge to form the view he
did.
- The
reasons for the trial judge reaching this view did not admit of lengthy
elaboration. On this issue the central question was
whether the trial judge
accepted Mr Mitchelson's evidence as an accurate account of what would have
been done. To a significant
degree that was a matter of impression. But the
trial judge did not rely only on that. He pointed, in his reasons, to the
absence
of evidence of comparable cases. The reasons of the trial judge were
not deficient.
- Further,
the trial judge was right to conclude that the respondent had not demonstrated
that it had suffered prejudice that had caused
or would cause it damage. No
doubt, as Ipp J pointed
out[9], the
respondent had lost the opportunity to exercise, at an earlier date than it did,
its undoubted rights under the Policy to investigate
the claim, to have the
employee examined by a doctor of its choosing, and to have him undergo different
treatment. That is, it lost
an opportunity to reduce its
liability[10].
But for the reasons given earlier, the amount that fairly represented the extent
to which the respondent's interests were prejudiced
was not established by
pointing to what might have been done; in this case, it was necessary to
prove, to the requisite standard of proof, what would have been done.
The trial judge was not persuaded that the respondent would probably have done
what Mr Mitchelson said it would
have done. In those circumstances, the
respondent did not establish that its liability to the appellant should be
reduced by any
amount.
The applicability of the Insurance Contracts Act
- The
appellant sought indemnity against its liability to the employee at common law,
not against any liability under the Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation
Act 1981 (WA) ("the Workers' Compensation Act"). Section 9(1) of the
Insurance Contracts Act provides that:
"Except as otherwise provided by this Act, this Act does not apply to or in
relation to contracts and proposed contracts:
...
(e) entered into or proposed to be entered into for the purposes of a law
(including a law of a State or Territory) that relates
to:
(i) workers' compensation".
The Workers' Compensation Act provides in Pt III for a scheme by which
employers are liable to pay compensation to workers who suffer
disability by
(among other things) personal injury by accident arising out of, or in the
course of,
employment[11].
Subject to some qualifications that need not be noticed, s 160 of the
Workers' Compensation Act obliges every employer to obtain
from an approved
insurance office "a policy of insurance for the full amount of his liability to
pay compensation under this Act
to any worker employed by him". Unlike the
workers' compensation legislation in some other jurisdictions, which requires
insurance
against all forms of an employer's liability for personal injury to a
worker[12], the
Workers' Compensation Act does not require an employer to insure against
liability at common law.
- The
respondent sought special leave to cross-appeal to this Court to argue that the
Insurance Contracts Act, and in particular s 54, did not apply to this
contract of insurance. The respondent did agitate this issue in the Full Court
although the trial judge noted,
in his reasons, that at trial it had been
conceded that "the operation of the ... Act, and in particular s 54, could
not be avoided
merely because the same contract of insurance included workers'
compensation cover, so that another part of the contract was entered
into for
the purposes of a law that related to workers' compensation".
- The
appellant, in this Court, opposed the grant of special leave on grounds that
included a contention that the way in which the
argument is now sought to be put
by the respondent in support of its cross-appeal had not been advanced below.
It was accepted,
however, that what was said to be the novel form of the
argument was not such as would make it likely that further evidence would
have
been adduced at trial if it had been put forward at that time. It is not
necessary to consider whether the appellant is right
to say that the argument
advanced in this Court differs from what was put below. The respondent should
have the special leave it
seeks, but its cross-appeal should be dismissed.
- Section 9(1)
of the Insurance Contracts Act deals with certain contracts and proposed
contracts. Some (for example, those dealt with in s 9(1)(b) and (c)) are
contracts of insurance and it may therefore be that, in those cases, it is
necessary to refer to s 10 of that Act and its provisions about what a
reference in the Act to a contract of insurance is to include. But
s 9(1)(e)(i), which
is said to be the provision relevant to this case, does
not speak of contracts of insurance. It speaks of contracts "entered
into or proposed to be entered into for the purposes of a law ... that relates
to" an identified
subject matter – workers' compensation. Where, as here,
a contract between the insured and insurer is entered into for the
purposes of
such a law, but the parties undertake other rights and duties for the purposes
of obtaining and providing insurance against
another kind of risk – an
employer's liability to an employee at common law – how is the reference
in s 9(1) to "contracts
and proposed contracts" to be understood?
- We
do not accept that the criterion for operation of s 9(1)(e) is the form in
which particular arrangements between parties are recorded.
Thus, the fact that
there is a single policy document which records the arrangements between the
appellant and the respondent does
not determine whether s 9(1)(e)(i) is
engaged. Account must be taken of the fact that there were, in this case,
distinct insurances
that were reflected in the two different insuring clauses
that are set out earlier in these reasons. That both concerned an employer's
liability to provide compensation to workers, one form of liability arising
under a statutory scheme and the other stemming from
the common law, is not to
the point. What is important is that one form of insurance was undertaken for
the purposes of a relevant
law; the other was not. The exception for which
s 9(1)(e)(i) provides is identified by reference to a contract being
entered into
for the purposes of a law relating to a particular subject matter.
The exception is not identified by reference to the way in which
the risk which
is insured can be described.
- In
these circumstances, s 9(1)(e)(i) should be understood as excepting from
the application of the Insurance Contracts Act only those aspects of the
contract between the appellant and the respondent that were made pursuant to the
obligation imposed on
the appellant by the Workers' Compensation Act to have
insurance against liability under that Act. It is only the stipulations that
relate to that cover which constitute a contract entered into for the
purposes of the Workers' Compensation Act. Section 9(1)(e)(i) does not
operate
to except from the application of the Act those provisions of the
contract that were engaged in the circumstances of this case.
Accordingly,
s 54(1) of the Insurance Contracts Act applied.
Orders
- The
appeal should be allowed with costs, the orders of the Full Court of the Supreme
Court of Western Australia made on 3 April 2000
set aside and in lieu it be
ordered that the appeal to that Court be dismissed with costs. The respondent
should have special leave
to cross-appeal. The cross-appeal should be treated
as instituted and heard instanter but dismissed with
costs.
[1] This Act was later renamed the
Workers' Compensation and Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA).
[2] QBE Insurance Ltd v Moltoni
Corporation Pty Ltd [2000] WASCA 82; (2000) 22 WAR 148.
[3] [2000] WASCA 82; (2000) 22 WAR 148 at 162 [72].
[4] [2000] WASCA 82; (2000) 22 WAR 148 at 162-163
[73].
[5] [2000] WASCA 82; (2000) 22 WAR 148 at 154 [22].
[6] [1993] HCA 5; (1993) 176 CLR 332 at 342 per
Brennan, Deane, Dawson, Gaudron and McHugh JJ.
[7] [1993] HCA 5; (1993) 176 CLR 332 at 342 per
Brennan, Deane, Dawson, Gaudron and McHugh JJ.
[8] [1993] HCA 5; (1993) 176 CLR 332 at 342 per
Brennan, Deane, Dawson, Gaudron and McHugh JJ.
[9] [2000] WASCA 82; (2000) 22 WAR 148 at 154 [22].
[10] [2000] WASCA 82; (2000) 22 WAR 148 at 151
[7].
[11] Workers' Compensation and
Rehabilitation Act 1981 (WA), s 5, definition of "disability" and
s 18.
[12] Workers Compensation Act
1987 (NSW), s 155; Accident Compensation (WorkCover Insurance) Act
1993 (Vic), s 7; WorkCover Queensland Act 1996 (Q), s 52;
Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (Tas), s 97;
Work Health Act (NT), s 126; Workers' Compensation Act 1951
(ACT), s 17B.