Westport Insurance Corporation v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2011] HCA 37 (5 October 2011)
Westport Insurance Corporation v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2011] HCA 37 (5 October 2011)
Last Updated: 5 October 2011
HIGH COURT OF AUSTRALIA
FRENCH CJ,
GUMMOW, HEYDON, CRENNAN, KIEFEL AND BELL JJ
Matter No S110/2010
WESTPORT INSURANCE CORPORATION & ORS APPLICANTS
AND
GORDIAN RUNOFF LIMITED RESPONDENT
Matter No S219/2010
WESTPORT INSURANCE CORPORATION & ORS APPELLANTS
AND
GORDIAN RUNOFF LIMITED RESPONDENT
Westport Insurance Corporation v Gordian Runoff Limited [2011] HCA 37
5 October 2011
S110/2010 & S219/2010
ORDER
Matter No S110/2010
- Grant
special leave to include, as a further ground of appeal in Matter
No S219/2010, ground 5 of the applicants' draft notice of
appeal.
2. The respondent pay the applicants' costs.
Matter No S219/2010
1. Appeal allowed.
- Set
aside orders 2, 3 and 4 of the orders of the Court of Appeal of the Supreme
Court of New South Wales made on 1 April 2010 and,
in place thereof, order that
the appeal to that Court be dismissed with costs.
3. The respondent pay the appellants' costs of the appeal to this
Court.
On appeal from the Supreme Court of New South Wales
Representation
B W Walker SC with T M Mehigan for the applicants/appellants (instructed by
Allens Arthur Robinson Lawyers)
I M Jackman SC with T M Faulkner for the respondent (instructed by Mallesons
Stephen Jaques)
S J Gageler SC, Solicitor-General of the Commonwealth with M J O'Meara appearing
as amicus curiae on behalf of the Attorney-General
of the Commonwealth
(instructed by Australian Government Solicitor)
D F Jackson QC with M F Holmes QC and J A Redwood appearing as amici curiae on
behalf of the Australian Centre for International
Commercial Arbitration Limited
& Ors (instructed by Corrs Chambers Westgarth)
Notice: This copy of the Court's Reasons for Judgment is subject to formal
revision prior to publication in the Commonwealth Law
Reports.
CATCHWORDS
Westport Insurance Corporation v Gordian Runoff Limited
Arbitration – Judicial review of awards – Section 38(5) of
Commercial Arbitration Act 1984 (NSW) ("Arbitration Act") provided that
the Supreme Court shall not grant leave to appeal on any question of law unless
it considers
that, having regard to all the circumstances, the determination of
the question of law could substantially affect the rights of a
party to the
arbitration agreement (par (a)), and there is a "manifest error of law on
the face of the award" (par (b)(i)) –
Reinsurance treaties between
respondent and appellants included arbitration agreement which required that any
dispute arising thereunder
be referred to arbitration to be held in accordance
with and subject to Arbitration Act – Appellants appealed to Supreme Court
on questions of law arising out of award – Whether leave to appeal should
have
been granted – Whether error of law manifest on face of
award.
Arbitration – Reasons for award – Section 29(1)(c) of Arbitration
Act required arbitrator to include in award a statement of reasons for making
award, unless parties otherwise agreed in writing –
Arbitrators delivered
written award accompanied by "Reasons for Award" comprising 96 paragraphs
– Nature and extent of reasons
for award required by s 29(1)(c) of
Arbitration Act – Whether reasons for award must be same standard as
judicial reasons – Whether nature and extent of reasons for award
depends
upon circumstances of particular dispute.
Insurance – Statutory construction – Statutory limitation on
exclusion clauses – Section 18B of Insurance Act 1902 (NSW)
prevented insurer from avoiding liability by relying upon exclusion clause in
contract of insurance where operation of exclusion
clause was triggered by event
with no relationship to cause of event giving rise to particular loss and claim,
unless in all the
circumstances it was not reasonable for insurer to be bound to
indemnify insured – Respondent sought to rely on s 18B to
overcome finding by arbitrators that reinsurance treaties between respondent and
appellants did not respond to certain policies
of insurance underwritten by
respondent – Whether s 18B applicable to reinsurance treaties between
respondent and appellants.
Words and phrases – "appeal", "arbitration agreement", "award",
"considerations of general justice and fairness", "exclusion
clause", "judicial
standard", "manifest error of law on the face of the award", "question of law",
"reasons", "reinsurance treaty".
Commercial Arbitration Act 1984 (NSW), ss 22, 29, 38-40.
Insurance Act 1902 (NSW), s 18B.
- FRENCH
CJ, GUMMOW, CRENNAN AND BELL JJ. This appeal and application for special
leave reaches this Court from the decision of the
New South Wales Court of
Appeal (Spigelman CJ, Allsop P and
Macfarlan JA)[1],
allowing an appeal against the order of the primary judge (Einstein J)
setting aside an arbitral
award[2]. The
essential narrative commences on 10 October 2008, when, in an arbitration
conducted under the Commercial Arbitration Act 1984 (NSW) ("the
Arbitration
Act")[3], the
arbitrators delivered their written award in favour of the respondent
("Gordian"). This comprised three paragraphs. It was
accompanied by "Reasons
for Award" comprising 96 paragraphs ("the Reasons"). Section 29(1)(c)
of the Arbitration Act required the giving of reasons. One of the issues in
this matter is whether the Reasons were inadequate.
The arbitration
- The
arbitrators found that at all material times Gordian underwrote professional
indemnity ("PI") insurance and directors and officers
liability ("D and O")
insurance. Both categories of insurance customarily were written to cover the
insured with respect to claims
alleging prior wrongful acts, being claims made
and notified to Gordian during the period of the policy. The Reasons identified
a series of steps whereby Gordian (and a Lloyd's syndicate ("R E Brown")) wrote
for FAI Insurance Limited ("FAI") a seven year D
and O runoff policy
("the FAI policy"). Gordian's share of risk was 60 percent and
R E Brown's 40 percent. The FAI policy applied
to wrongful acts
occurring before 31 May 1999 and allowed for claims to be made and notified
for seven years thereafter. A number
of claims in respect of alleged wrongful
acts prior to 31 May 1999 were made and notified to Gordian under the FAI
policy within
seven years, that is to say, by 31 May 2006. All but one of
these claims were made and notified within three years.
- At
all material times Gordian's PI portfolio and D and O portfolio were
at least partially reinsured. The dispute between the parties
to the
arbitration turned upon the issue whether the liabilities of Gordian in respect
of claims under the FAI policy were reinsured
under reinsurance treaties between
Gordian and the appellants ("the reinsurers"). The primary question was whether
any of the reinsurance
treaties covered the FAI policy given that it covered
claims made and notified to Gordian within an extended period of seven years
from 31 May 1999 rather than a period of three years. The reinsurers had
not been aware of the existence of the FAI policy until
after 23 February
2001. On that date Gordian had been notified of circumstances which could give
rise to a claim under the FAI policy
and the reinsurers then were informed of
this. The reinsurers contended that they had conducted their dealings with
Gordian on the
basis that Gordian would not change the classes of business to
which the reinsurance applied without the prior approval of the reinsurers.
- It
was common ground that the reinsurance treaties required the dispute to be
decided by arbitration. The reinsurance treaties appear
to have selected the
law in force in New South Wales as their proper law and required any arbitration
thereunder to be held in accordance
with and subject to the Arbitration Act.
Further, in accordance with ordinary principles of statutory construction, the
Arbitration Act applied to arbitration agreements which selected New South Wales
as their governing
law[4].
- The
arbitration proceeded before a panel of three arbitrators upon a set of detailed
pleadings which extended to more than 60 pages.
The hearing commenced on
14 July 2008 and continued until 22 July, with representation by
senior counsel, witnesses being sworn
and cross-examined on their written
statements, many documents being in evidence and a full transcript provided. In
many respects,
therefore, the arbitration proceeded along the lines of the
conduct of a commercial cause in a superior court. This complexity of
the
arbitration will be relevant when considering the content of the requirement in
s 29(1)(c) of the Arbitration Act that the arbitrators provide a statement
of the reasons for the making of the award.
- The
reinsurers resisted the claims made by Gordian on the grounds that the class of
business they had agreed with Gordian to cover
was limited to underlying
policies with a term not exceeding three years, which excluded a seven year
policy, so that the reinsurers
had no liability to Gordian even upon claims made
and notified within three years under a seven year policy. Gordian responded by
relying upon s 18B of the Insurance Act 1902 (NSW) ("the Insurance
Act"). The rejoinder pleaded by the reinsurers was that the effect of relief to
Gordian under s 18B would be that they were obliged to indemnify Gordian
without any additional premium for coverage of a seven year policy, which, in
any event, they would have refused.
- In
the Reasons, the arbitrators noted that the reinsurers accepted that by the
reinsurance treaties they agreed to cover D and O
policies limited to
claims made and notified to Gordian within a period of three years but not
thereafter. But the arbitrators were
not persuaded that the FAI policy, which
extended to claims made and notified to Gordian within the seven year period
from 31 May
1999, was covered by the reinsurance treaties.
Section 18B
- However,
as indicated above, Gordian had contended that, even if the reinsurance treaties
did not cover the FAI policy, provisions
of the Insurance Act applied to
contracts of
reinsurance[5]
and saved the position of Gordian by producing the result that the reinsurance
treaties did cover Gordian's liability under the seven
year policy, if any, in
respect of the claims made and notified to Gordian within the three year period.
The arbitrators accepted
that submission insofar as it relied upon
s 18B of the Insurance Act.
- Section 18B,
titled "Limitation on exclusion clauses", provides:
"(1) Where by or under the provisions of a contract of insurance entered into,
reinstated or renewed after the commencement of this
section:
(a) the circumstances in which the insurer is bound to indemnify the
insured are so defined as to exclude or limit the liability of the
insurer to indemnify the insured on the happening of particular events or
on the existence of particular circumstances, and
(b) the liability of the insurer has been so defined because the happening of
those events or the existence of those circumstances
was in the view of the
insurer likely to increase the risk of loss occurring,
the insured shall not be disentitled to be indemnified by the insurer by reason
only of those provisions of the contract of insurance
if, on the balance
of probability, the loss in respect of which the insured seeks to be
indemnified was not caused or contributed to by the happening of those
events or the existence of those circumstances, unless in all the
circumstances it is not reasonable for the insurer to be bound to indemnify the
insured.
(2) The onus of proving for the purposes of subsection (1) that, on the
balance of probability, loss in respect of which an insured
seeks to be
indemnified was not caused or contributed to by the happening of particular
events or the existence of particular circumstances
is on the insured."
(emphasis added)
- Section 18B
was added to the Insurance Act by the Insurance (Amendment) Act 1983
(NSW). It appears to have been assumed by the parties that s 18B applies
not only to contracts entered into in New South Wales
(as the opening words of
s 18B(1) suggest) but to contracts the governing law of which is that of
New South Wales, so that it applied
to the reinsurance treaties in question.
- The
perceived mischief which s 18B was designed to remedy was the avoidance by
insurers of liability by reliance upon exclusions
or terms contained in the
contract of insurance, the operation of which was triggered by events with no
relationship to the cause
of the event giving rise to the particular loss and
claim in question; no consideration, as Allsop P pointed out in giving the
leading
judgment in the Court of
Appeal[6],
appears to have been given by the legislature to the application of s 18B
to contracts of reinsurance.
- The
reinsurers had submitted to the arbitrators that a provision which identifies
the scope of coverage does not impose a term or
condition which can attract the
operation of s 18B. In the Court of Appeal, Allsop P went on to
indicate a critical difficulty in
the construction of s 18B which had been
presented to the arbitrators, by asking whether, as Gordian contended (and the
arbitrators
accepted)[7]:
"s 18B can operate to extend beyond its effect on so-called exclusion and
limitation clauses leaving the so-called true scope of
cover to operate and to
have an effect on clauses that truly reflect the so-called scope of cover,
thereby extending the intended
substantive reach of the
policy".
- Further
consideration of the point made by Allsop P will be necessary later in these
reasons and will be of decisive importance for
the outcome of this matter.
The Reasons
- In
the Reasons the arbitrators extracted the text of s 18B(1), including the
concluding words. The arbitrators said (par 88):
"The reinsurers submitted that ss 18B(1) has no material operation.
However, we see no reason to doubt that s 18B applies in relation
to the
3-year claims if the requirements of ss 18B(1)(a) are met. In particular,
we are comfortably satisfied that it would be reasonable
within the meaning of
s 18B(1), and entirely consistent with 'considerations of general justice
and fairness' within the meaning
of the reinsurance treaties, for the
reinsurance treaties to apply in relation to the 3-year
claims."
- In
pars 92, 93 and 94 the arbitrators then wrote:
"The reinsurance treaties do not cover the 3-year claims under the FAI D&O
run-off policy although they were made within 3 years
from the inception of
that policy because the policy covered claims which were made and notified to
Gordian within 7 years from its
inception and the reinsurance treaties were
limited to policies which covered claims which were made and notified to Gordian
within
3 years from inception and/or excluded policies which covered claims
which were made and notified to Gordian more than 3 years from
inception.
Subsection 18B(1)(a) operates in relation to the 3-year claims if, but only
if, that exclusion or limitation on the liability
of the reinsurers to indemnify
Gordian in respect of the 3-year claims under the FAI D&O run-off policy is
an exclusion or limitation
that is based 'on the existence of particular
circumstances'. The 'particular circumstance' for this purpose can
only be that the FAI D&O run-off policy covered claims which were made and
notified to Gordian more than
3 years from the inception of the FAI D&O
run-off policy. The 'loss in respect of which [Gordian] seeks to be
indemnified', namely, its liability on the 3-year claims, 'was not caused
or contributed to by ... the existence of [that] circumstance' because the
3-year claims were made and notified to Gordian within 3 years of the
inception of the FAI D&O run-off policy.
Consistently with the remedial character of ss 18B(1) and in compliance
with the obligation to construe its language so as to give
the most complete
remedy which is consistent with the actual language employed and to which the
words are fairly open, we have concluded
that the exclusion and/or limitation on
the 'liability of the [reinsurers] to indemnify [Gordian]' in respect of
the 3-year claims made under the FAI D&O run-off policy is based 'on the
existence of [the] particular circumstance' that the FAI D&O run-off
policy covered claims which were made and notified to Gordian more than
3 years from the inception
of the FAI D&O run-off policy. If at large,
'considerations of general justice and fairness' would produce the same
result.
Accordingly, we have determined that reinsurance treaties cover Gordian's
liability, if any, in respect of the 3-year claims."
- The
reference by the arbitrators to "considerations of general justice and fairness"
repeats words in s 22(2) of the Arbitration Act. This sub-section
states:
"If the parties to an arbitration agreement so agree in writing, the arbitrator
or umpire may determine any question that arises
for determination in the course
of proceedings under the agreement by reference to considerations of general
justice and fairness."
The arbitration clause in the reinsurance treaties provided that s 22(2)
apply to the arbitration.
- The
reinsurers complain that in the Reasons the arbitrators did not explain why, by
reason of the concluding words in the sub-section,
s 18B(1) should still be
held to apply; the reinsurers assert an absence of explanation as to why in all
the circumstances it was
reasonable for them to be bound to indemnify
Gordian.
The Arbitration Act and the Supreme Court
- An
award, subject to the Arbitration Act and to any contrary criterion in the
arbitration agreement, is final and binding on the parties to the agreement
(s 28). The award may order specific performance of a contract if the
Supreme Court would have power to decree specific performance (s 24). By
leave of the Supreme Court, judgment may be entered in terms of an award and an
award may be enforced in the same manner as a
curial judgment or order to the
same effect (s 33). The Supreme Court is empowered by s 44 to remove
an arbitrator who has misconducted the proceedings or who is incompetent or
unsuitable to deal with the particular dispute.
- These
statutory provisions indicate that the making of an award in arbitration
proceedings is more than the performance of private
contractual arrangements
between the parties which yields an outcome which rests purely in contract.
They also suggest the importance
which the provision of reasons by arbitrators
has for the operation of the statutory regime. That statutory regime involves
the
exercise of public authority, whether by force of the statute itself or by
enlistment of the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.
It also, as explained
later in these reasons, displays a legislative concern that the jurisdiction of
the courts to develop commercial
law not be restricted by the complete
insulation of private commercial arbitration.
- No
doubt it is true to say that the provision of an award under the Arbitration Act
lacks distinctive hallmarks of the exercise of judicial power, namely the
maintenance of public confidence in the manner of its exercise
and in the
cogency or rationality of its outcomes, and the operation of the appellate
structure and of the case law system. However,
it is going too far to conclude
that performance of the arbitral function is purely a private matter of
contract, in which the parties
have given up their rights to engage judicial
power[8], and is
wholly divorced from the exercise of public authority.
The federal scheme
- The
Commonwealth Solicitor-General, who appeared for the Attorney-General as
amicus curiae, sought to distinguish provisions of the Arbitration Act
with respect to the giving of reasons from the state of affairs obtaining under
Pt III (ss 15-30A) of the International Arbitration Act 1974
(Cth) ("the federal Act"), after amendment by the International Arbitration
Amendment Act 2010 (Cth). The Attorney-General was moved to do so in the
light of the treatment by the Court of Appeal of the Supreme Court of Victoria
in Oil Basins Ltd v BHP Billiton
Ltd[9] of the
provision under the new federal scheme for the giving of reasons as in pari
materia with the provision in the Victorian legislation equivalent to
s 29(1)(c) of the Arbitration Act.
- Section 16
of the federal Act gives the force of law in Australia to the UNCITRAL Model Law
on International Commercial Arbitration ("the Model
Law"), the English text of
which is set out in Sched 2 to the federal Act. If the Model Law applies
to an arbitration, State or
Territory law relating to arbitration does not apply
to it (s 21). In exercising a power to recognise and enforce an arbitral
award
under the Model Law, a federal, State or Territory court must have regard
to the objects of the federal Act and the circumstance
that awards are intended
to provide "certainty and finality" (ss 39(1)(a)(iii), 39(2)(b)(ii)). The
federal Act in this way enlists
the judicial power of the Commonwealth in aid of
the operation of the arbitration system established by s 16 and the Model
Law.
- Article 31(2)
of the Model Law requires that an award "shall state the reasons upon which it
is based". However, the Solicitor-General
submitted that this appears in a
context where Art 5 provides that "no court shall intervene except where so
provided in this Law",
and there is no provision for appeal on a question of
law. An award may be set aside only under Art 34 and relevantly only on
the
ground of a breach of the rules of natural justice. The Solicitor-General
contended that here these rules require no more than a
statement of reasons to
demonstrate whether the arbitrators have addressed the dispute referred for
determination. Whether this
is the proper construction of the federal Act and
the Model Law may be left for determination on another occasion. The provisions
of the federal scheme may be put to one side in construing the Arbitration Act,
upon which this litigation turns.
Statements of reasons and errors of law
- Section 29(1)
of the Arbitration Act required the arbitrators in the present case to:
"(a) make the award in writing,
(b) sign the award, and
(c) include in the award a statement of the reasons for making the
award."
- Succeeding
provisions of the Arbitration Act employ the term "award" to identify in some
provisions the award in the strict sense of the outcome of the arbitration which
then
may be enforced by the Supreme Court, and in others to identify the
inclusion of a statement of reasons in the written instrument
containing the
award which is the outcome of that reasoning.
- The
term "the Court" is relevantly defined by s 4(1) as meaning the Supreme
Court of New South Wales. Part 5 (ss 38-49) is headed "Powers of the
Court". In the circumstances detailed in ss 39 and 40, the Supreme
Court may determine any question of law arising in the course of an arbitration.
However, s 38(1) denies to the Supreme Court "jurisdiction to set aside or
remit an award on the ground of error of fact or law on the face of the
award";
the face of the award would include the statement of reasons. The denial of
that jurisdiction by s 38(1) is qualified by s 38(2) and (4).
- With
the consent of the parties to the arbitration agreement (s 38(4)(a)) or
(subject to s 40, which permits "exclusion agreements" but is not presently
material) with the leave of the Supreme Court (s 38(4)(b)), a proceeding
described in s 38(2) as "an appeal" lies to the Supreme Court "on any
question of law arising out of an award". These provisions thus have a dual
function.
They both create a new head of justiciable subject matter and confer
jurisdiction on the Supreme Court to determine whether to grant
leave, and, if
this is given, to entertain the "appeal". The subject matter of this "appeal"
is confined to questions of
law[10]; the
scheme of the legislation is to hold the parties to their agreement to accept
factual findings by arbitrators.
- Leave
of the Supreme Court is not to be granted pursuant to s 38(4) unless the
Supreme Court considers that the applicant for leave has satisfied the criteria
specified in pars (a) and (b) of s 38(5). These paragraphs
state:
"(a) having regard to all the circumstances, the determination of the question
of law concerned could substantially affect the rights
of one or more parties to
the arbitration agreement, and
(b) there is:
(i) a manifest error of law on the face of the award, or
(ii) strong evidence that the arbitrator or umpire made an error of law and
that the determination of the question may add, or may
be likely to add,
substantially to the certainty of commercial law."
- Section 38(5)
specifies conditions which must be satisfied before the power under
s 38(4)(b) to grant leave is enlivened. The statute does not provide that
if s 38(5) is satisfied, then leave must be given. The distinction was
explained by Sheller JA in Promenade Investments Pty Ltd v New South
Wales[11],
and in Qantas Airways Ltd v Joseland &
Gilling[12]
McHugh JA, giving the judgment of himself, Glass and Priestley JJA,
emphasised that the discretion to grant leave is "to be exercised
after
considering all the circumstances of the case".
- The
Arbitration
Act[13]
repealed the Arbitration Act 1902 (NSW) ("the 1902 Act"). However, the
provisions of the Arbitration Act just described, in particular s 38(1),
are best understood
in the light of the system under the 1902 Act which they
replaced.
- A
starting point for that understanding is provided by the following statement by
Lord Diplock when delivering the reasons of the
Privy Council in Max Cooper
& Sons Pty Ltd v University of New South
Wales[14]:
"One of the principal attractions of arbitration as a means of resolving
disputes arising out of business transactions is that finality
can be obtained
without publicity or unnecessary formality, by submitting the dispute to a
decision maker of the parties' own choice.
From the arbitrator's award there is
no appeal as of right; it is only exceptionally that it does not put an end to
the dispute.
England and those other Commonwealth jurisdictions, including New
South Wales, whose arbitration statutes have followed the English
model are
exceptional when compared with most other countries, in providing procedural
means whereby the finality of an arbitrator's
award may be upset, if it can be
demonstrated to a court of law that his decision resulted from his applying
faulty legal reasoning
to the facts as he found them. Two of these procedural
means, the statement by the arbitrator of his award or of a question of law
in
the form of a special case for the opinion of the court, are statutory in
origin; the third, setting aside an arbitrator's award
for error of law upon its
face, originated in the common law. It is as the result of an anomaly of legal
history that it still survives
in New South Wales and, until the passing of the
Arbitration Act 1979 [(UK) ('the 1979 UK Act')], survived in
England."
- The
concept of an error of law appearing, or manifest, upon the face of an award,
thus has a long history. His Lordship went
on[15] to
describe the jurisdiction exercised by the Court of King's Bench as analogous to
that asserted over inferior tribunals by the
writ of certiorari and as one
whereby awards were set aside for errors of law apparent on their face, and
added:
"This jurisdiction operated haphazardly, because the ability of the court to
exercise it depended upon whether or not the arbitrator
had chosen to set out in
the award itself the legal reasoning on which he had based it. If he had not,
the court was powerless to
intervene but, if he had and his legal reasoning so
set out in the award itself was erroneous, the court could quash the
award."
- It
is to the removal of this jurisdiction that s 38(1) is directed; it had
persisted despite the provision of statutory means of
review, in particular by
ss 9 and 19 of the 1902 Act. These provisions had empowered
arbitrators to state an award as to the whole
or part thereof in the form of a
special case for the opinion of the court, and also had empowered the court to
compel an arbitrator
to state a special case for its opinion on any question of
law arising in the course of the
arbitration[16].
The decisions of English courts on cases stated by arbitrators under this system
was said by Lord Diplock in The
Nema[17] to
have made an important contribution to "the comprehensiveness and certainty" of
English commercial law, which in turn makes it
"a favoured choice as the 'proper
law' of contracts ... and London arbitration as the favoured curial law for the
resolution of disputes
arising under them". That concern with the certainty of
commercial law as enhanced by curial involvement in arbitration proceedings
is
apparent particularly from the terms of par (b)(ii) of s 38(5) of the
Arbitration Act.
- However,
as Lord Diplock explained in Max
Cooper[18],
before the repeal of the 1902 Act:
"Unless an arbitrator is required under s 19 of the [1902 Act] to state in
the form of a special case for the opinion of the court
a question of law
arising in the course of the reference, he is not under any obligation in law to
give his reasons for what he has
decided. Indeed, to do so in the award itself
may undermine its finality by exposing the party in whose favour it is given to
the
risk of the expense and delay involved in what in effect is an appeal on a
point of law from his decision that may be taken as far
as the highest court in
the land, and the possibility that at the end of it all, the award may be set
aside and a new reference held.
On the other hand, if he wants to inform the
parties of his reasons without making the award vulnerable, all he has to do is
to
put them down on a separate piece of paper which, he makes it unequivocally
clear, is not intended to form part of his award."
- The
scheme adopted by the Arbitration Act was described by Giles J in
R P Robson Constructions Pty Ltd v D & M
Williams[19].
After indicating that the encouragement otherwise offered for unreasoned awards
was radically altered by the new legislation, his
Honour went on:
"The jurisdiction to set aside or remit an award on the ground of error of law
on its face was abolished (s 38(1)). In lieu thereof,
an appeal was to lie
to this Court on any question of law arising out of the award, which appeal
might be brought by any of the parties
to the arbitration agreement with the
consent of all other parties thereto or, subject to an exclusion agreement, with
the leave
of the Court (s 38(2) and (4)). Leave was not to be granted
unless the Court considered that the determination of the question of
law could
substantially affect the rights of one or more of the parties (s 38(5)(a)).
Necessarily, in order that a dissatisfied party
could effectively appeal,
s 29 of the Act provided for the award to be in writing and, as has been
seen, for the arbitrator to include
a statement of the reasons for making the
award. The statement of reasons is necessary in order that it can be seen
whether or not
the arbitrator was in error on any question of law arising out of
the award."
- From
that last sentence it follows that failure to provide a statement of the reasons
for the making of the award, as required by
s 29(1)(c), may itself amount
to a manifest error of law on the face of the award within the meaning of
s 38(5)(b)(i) of the Arbitration
Act[20]. The
reasons, for this purpose, are part of the award. The submission to the
contrary by Mr Jackson QC for one set of amici curiae should
not be accepted.
The 1979 UK Act
- The
enactment of the Arbitration Act had been preceded by the 1979 UK Act. Like
s 38(1) of the Arbitration Act, s 1(1) of the 1979
UK Act removed the
jurisdiction with respect to errors on the face of an award. However, the
jurisdiction then created by the balance
of s 1 for an "appeal ... on any
question of law arising out of an award" was expressed in terms which did not
correspond with the
balance of s 38. In particular, the provision in
s 1 of the 1979 UK Act with respect to the grant of leave (s 1(4)) did
not contain
the detailed statement in s 38(5)(b) of the Arbitration Act set
out earlier in these reasons. In its original form, s 38 was closer
to the
terms of the 1979 UK Act, as Sheller JA pointed out in Promenade
Investments[21],
but this litigation concerns s 38 in the form taken after the Commercial
Arbitration (Amendment) Act 1990 (NSW). Some caution thus is required in
applying to the leave requirements in s 38(5) remarks made in United
Kingdom decisions
dealing with s 1 of the 1979 UK Act.
- However,
some assistance in considering the operation of the leave requirement in
s 38 is provided by Lord Diplock in The
Nema[22].
Having described the power to refuse leave in the 1979 UK Act as conferring an
"unfettered" judicial discretion, he added:
"[T]his, in the case of a dispute that parties have agreed to submit to
arbitration, involves deciding between the rival merits of
assured finality on
the one hand and upon the other the resolution of doubts as to the accuracy of
the legal reasoning followed by
the arbitrator in the course of arriving at his
award, having regard in that assessment to the nature and circumstances of the
particular
dispute."
The litigation in the Supreme Court and the Court of
Appeal
- The
primary judge in the one proceeding dealt both with the application by the
reinsurers for leave to "appeal" and with the "appeal"
itself. By orders
entered 23 April 2009 his Honour granted the reinsurers leave to appeal and
allowed the appeal, set aside the
award and in place thereof dismissed the claim
of Gordian in the arbitration. What his Honour described as the "primary error
of
law" was the failure of the arbitrators to recognise that an agreement made
at the request of Gordian to extend cover to include
D and O policies
issued for up to three years was not a "limitation" or "exclusion" in the sense
contemplated by s 18B(1) of the Insurance Act. Such an error, in his
Honour's view, made inappropriate a remitter to the arbitrators.
- The
Court of
Appeal[23]
discountenanced the procedure adopted by the primary judge in which, over the
opposition of Gordian, his Honour had heard concurrently
the application for
leave and the "appeal" itself.
- The
Court of Appeal granted Gordian leave to appeal from the decision of the primary
judge, allowed the appeal, and made an order
refusing leave to the reinsurers
under s 38(4)(b) to "appeal" in respect of the award dated 10 October
2008[24]. If
they are to have any measure of success in this Court the reinsurers must show
that the Court of Appeal erred in that refusal
of leave. This requires
particular attention to the construction and operation of pars (a)
and (b) of s 38(5). In submissions to
this Court rather too much
attention was diverted away from the threshold issues and to the very fully
argued question of whether
the arbitrators erred in the engagement and
construction of s 18B of the Insurance Act.
Paragraph (b) of s 38(5) of the Arbitration
Act
- Paragraph (b)(i)
of s 38(5) may be awkwardly expressed, but the words "a manifest error of
law on the face of the award" comprise
a phrase which is to be read and
understood as expressing the one idea. An error of law either exists or does
not exist; there is
no twilight zone between the two possibilities. But what is
required here is that the existence of error be manifest on the face
of the
award, including the reasons given by the arbitrator, in the sense of apparent
to that understanding by the reader of the
award. If that error is manifest and
its determination could substantially affect the rights of at least one of the
parties, as
specified in par (a) of s 38(5), then the Supreme Court
may go on to decide to grant or refuse leave in the exercise of the power
conferred by s 38(4)(b).
- If
there be no such manifest error on the face of the award but there is presented
to the Supreme Court on the leave application
"strong evidence" that an error of
law was made, and its determination may add, or be likely to add, substantially
to the certainty
of commercial law (par (b)(ii) of s 38(5)) and also
may substantially affect the rights of at least one of the parties (par (a)
of
s 38(5)), then leave may be granted.
- If
either s 38(5)(b)(i) or s 38(5)(b)(ii) has been engaged to enliven the
power to grant leave, then, upon the grant of leave, a
"question of law arising
out of an award" is presented to provide the subject matter of the appeal which
lies to the Supreme Court
under s 38(2).
- Much
difficulty in the operation of these provisions has been occasioned by the
majority decision of the New South Wales Court of
Appeal in Natoli v
Walker (Kirby P and Mahoney JA; Meagher JA
dissenting)[25].
The majority appear to have treated the use of "manifest" in par (b)(i) of
s 38(5) not as directed to what is presented upon the
face of the award but
as requiring the error of law itself to have a particular quality or character
so as to include within par
(b)(i) facile errors and to exclude those of
complexity. This would exclude from par (b)(i), for example, an error in
the construction
of a complex law such as s 18B of the Insurance Act. Yet,
as par (b)(ii) indicates, the policy of the statute is not to leave
entirely to the operation of the arbitration agreement
questions of law the
determination of which may be likely to add to the certainty of commercial law.
In an age when much commercial
activity is regulated by statute, such questions
are likely to be matters of statutory interpretation. It would be incongruous
to
favour judicial determination merely of egregious error apparent on the face
of the award.
- In
the present case, counsel then appearing for the reinsurers in the Court of
Appeal, no doubt aware of what had been said in Natoli by the Court of
Appeal, conceded that he did not press a case of manifest error of law on the
face of the award. However, in his
reasons, Allsop P said that he did not
take the concession as going beyond the particular point of construction of
s 18B upon which the primary judge had based his
decision[26].
Nevertheless, his Honour applied Natoli to the construction of
par (b)(i) of
s 38(5)[27],
so that answers given by arbitrators upon difficult questions of law, which had
been open to competing arguments, did not qualify
as errors of law.
- In
this Court the reinsurers relied upon par (b)(i) as well as
par (b)(ii) of s 38(5) and were at liberty to do so. Natoli
should not be accepted in this Court as correctly construing s 38(5)(b)(i)
of the Arbitration Act. The character or quality of the
error of law falls for
consideration, if relied upon, at the next stage, namely when the Supreme Court
is considering under s 38(4)(b)
whether to grant leave.
- In
the Court of Appeal counsel for the reinsurers based the case upon
par (b)(ii) of s 38(5). This is expressed disjunctively from
par (b)(i), but the same circumstances may attract both paragraphs. The
correct construction of s 18B of the Insurance Act, as Allsop P
indicated[28],
would be likely in the sense of par (b)(ii) to add substantially to the
certainty of commercial law, and the "strong evidence" of
error would appear
from the Reasons themselves. So also the question of the content of the
requirement in s 29(1)(c) that there
be included a statement of the reasons
for making the award.
Inadequate reasons?
- The
Court of Appeal rejected the submission by the reinsurers that there had been an
error of law in the failure of the arbitrators
to give adequate reasons for
their conclusion respecting the application of the proviso in the concluding
words of s 18B(1) of the Insurance
Act[29]. The
reinsurers had submitted that the findings by the arbitrators had compelled the
contrary conclusion, namely, that it was not
reasonable for them to be bound to
indemnify Gordian. The reinsurers had supported their submission as to the
inadequacy of reasons
by reference to what they saw as having been decided by
the Court of Appeal of Victoria in Oil
Basins[30].
- The
relevant proposition from Oil Basins upon which the reinsurers relied
before the Court of Appeal was that the requirement for reasons specified in
par (c) of s 29(1)
of the Arbitration Act was a statutory importation
of the same standard as applies in Australia to the giving of reasons by
judges.
- Allsop P
considered[31]
that the applicable standard was that stated by Donaldson LJ when giving
the judgment of the English Court of Appeal in Bremer Handelsgesellschaft mbH
v Westzucker GmbH
(No 2)[32].
As his Lordship had said:
"All that is necessary is that the arbitrators should set out what, on their
view of the evidence, did or did not happen and should
explain succinctly why,
in the light of what happened, they have reached their decision and what that
decision is. This is all that
is meant by a 'reasoned award' [in s 1(6) of
the 1979 UK Act]."
It may be noted that immediately following this passage Donaldson LJ had
gone on to distinguish a reasoned award from reasons for
judgment.
- This
Court granted special leave to appeal on the ground that the Court of Appeal had
erred in not concluding that the arbitrators
had failed to give reasons as
required by par (c) of s 29(1) of the Arbitration Act for their
conclusion that it was reasonable for
the reinsurers to be required to indemnify
Gordian within the meaning of the proviso to s 18B(1) of the Insurance Act,
and for their conclusion that considerations of general justice and fairness did
not compel the conclusion that the reinsurers should
not be required to
indemnify Gordian within the meaning and on the proper construction of
s 22(2) of the Arbitration Act. In the
circumstances of this matter the
considerations of general justice and fairness spoken of in s 22(2) are
encompassed within the alleged
failure to give reasons for the applicability of
s 18B(1) of the Insurance Act, as required by s 29(1)(c) of the
Arbitration Act. This ground of appeal is subsumed within the first ground.
- The
reference in Oil Basins to the giving by the arbitrators in that dispute
of reasons to a "judicial
standard"[33]
and cognate
expressions[34]
placed an unfortunate gloss upon the terms of s 29(1)(c). More to the
point were observations in Oil Basins to the effect that what is required
to satisfy that provision will depend upon the nature of the dispute and the
particular circumstances
of the
case[35].
Their Honours illustrated the point by
saying[36]:
"If a dispute turns on a single short issue of fact, and it is apparent that the
arbitrator has been chosen for his or her expertise
in the trade or calling with
which the dispute is concerned, a court might well not expect anything more than
rudimentary identification
of the issues, evidence and reasoning from the
evidence to the facts and from the facts to the
conclusion[37]."
But in Oil Basins itself, the central issue in dispute in the hard-fought
and lengthy
arbitration[38]:
"was whether the expression 'overriding royalty' in the royalty agreement was
used as a term of art, as the respondents contended
(with the result that any
right to royalty ceased upon surrender of the tenement to which it related (a
'title based' royalty)),
or whether the expression meant simply an additional
royalty, as the appellant argued (with the result that royalty was payable in
respect of production derived by the respondents from within the area regardless
of surrenders (an 'area based' royalty))."
The primary judge in Oil Basins had, as the Court of Appeal put it,
properly[39]:
"held that, in order to provide reasons of the standard required by
s 29(1)(c), it was necessary for the arbitrators to decide and
give reasons
for deciding whether 'overriding royalty' was a technical term with a meaning
usually understood by persons in the oil
and gas industry and, if so, whether
the context of the royalty agreement or the surrounding circumstances implied
that the parties
intended a different meaning from the technical
meaning."
This the arbitrators in Oil Basins had failed to do.
- In
the present case, the reinsurers correctly submit that no wholly satisfactory
formula can be found to flesh out the requirement
in s 29(1)(c). Both
Gordian and the reinsurers are content in this Court to rest, like
Allsop P, upon what was set out above from
the reasons of Donaldson LJ
in Bremer. But the parties differ respecting the outcome of applying
Bremer to the Reasons. The submissions of the reinsurers on this point
should be accepted.
- Treating
s 18B of the Insurance Act as a critical element in reaching their award,
the arbitrators were obliged to explain succinctly why the various integers in
that
complex statutory provision were satisfied. Those integers included the
proviso.
- There
is no indication of factual findings in the Reasons which supported the
inapplicability of the proviso, nor, indeed, of those
considerations tending to
support its application. In particular, there was no apparent attention to the
contention that Gordian
could have sought a special acceptance with respect to
the FAI policy but had not done so, and if Gordian had done so it was at best
conjectural that the reinsurers would have accepted. Nor was there
consideration of the reinsurers' rejoinder pleading concerning
the adjustment in
premium. Nor was there any apparent consideration that the proviso in
s 18B(1) was designed to guard against a strained application of the
sub-section.
Conclusions respecting inadequacy of reasons
- The
result is that in this respect there was both a manifest error of law on the
face of the award (s 38(5)(b)(i)), and strong evidence
that the arbitrators
made an error of law, the determination of which may add substantially to the
certainty of commercial law (s
38(5)(b)(ii)).
- Sub-sections (3)
and (7) of s 38 of the Arbitration Act state:
"(3) On the determination of an appeal under subsection (2) the Supreme
Court may by order:
(a) confirm, vary or set aside the award, or
(b) remit the award, together with the Supreme Court's opinion on the question
of law which was the subject of the appeal, to the
arbitrator or umpire for
reconsideration or, where a new arbitrator or umpire has been appointed, to that
arbitrator or umpire for
consideration,
and where the award is remitted under paragraph (b) the arbitrator or
umpire shall, unless the order otherwise directs, make the
award within
3 months after the date of the order.
...
(7) Where the award of an arbitrator or umpire is varied on an appeal under
subsection (2), the award as varied shall have effect
(except for the
purposes of this section) as if it were the award of the arbitrator or
umpire."
- The
remedy in respect of the inadequacy of reasons which then would be appropriate
would be an order for remitter to the arbitrators
for reconsideration pursuant
to s 38(3)(b). However, the reinsurers contend that if they succeed in
obtaining special leave on either
of the remaining grounds respecting the
operation of s 18B of the Insurance Act which were referred to the Full
Court and extensively argued, and they succeed on those grounds, they should
obtain a more drastic
remedy. This would be the setting aside of the award by
order under s 38(3)(a) by the restoration of the order to that effect made
by the primary judge.
Section 18B special leave grounds
- Critical
to the outcome favoured by the arbitrators was the application by them of
s 18B of the Insurance Act, and the reinsurers complain that in doing so
the arbitrators misconstrued and misapplied s 18B in two respects. These
are grounds 5 and 6 in the draft Notice of Appeal.
- The
starting point for consideration of ground 5 is the finding by the
arbitrators that the FAI policy was outside the terms of the
reinsurance
treaties. The reinsurers then submit that there could be no three year claims
within the terms of the reinsurance treaties
if they were made under a policy to
which the treaties had no application. The stipulation in the reinsurance
treaties that they
speak only to D and O policies limited to reporting periods
of less than three years is then said by the reinsurers to render those
treaties
inapt to attract s 18B at all. A policy which is limited to three year
reporting periods is not a policy with a seven year period, as was the situation
with the FAI policy. It is no answer that three year claims might fall within
both policies. The exclusion upon which the treaties
operated was in respect of
"policies issued for periods longer than 36 months".
- There
was in the provisions of the treaties no stipulation by or under which (in the
terms of s 18B) the reinsurers excluded or limited their liability to
indemnify Gordian by reason of the circumstance that the FAI policy had the
seven year period, so that Gordian thereby was disentitled to what otherwise
would have been its right to indemnity under the treaties.
The words in
s 18B(1)(a), "on the happening of particular events or on the existence of
particular circumstances", mark off exclusions and limitations from
the content
of the "contract of insurance" identified in the opening words of the
sub-section. Accordingly, s 18B was never engaged.
- These
submissions should be accepted and special leave granted accordingly with
respect to ground 5 in the draft Notice of Appeal
and this ground should be
upheld.
- The
second ground referred for consideration by the Full Court, ground 6,
concerns the construction of the phrase in s 18B(1) "if ... the loss in
respect of which [Gordian] seeks to be indemnified was not caused or contributed
to by ... the existence of those
circumstances [identified in
par (a)]".
- Contrary
to the submissions by Gordian, this presented a question of law for decision by
the
arbitrators[40].
The error of which the reinsurers complain is readily conveyed by repeating what
was said by the Court of
Appeal[41]:
"There was an underlying policy; it provided for more than a 3 year
reporting period; it can be said that the existence of such a
policy was the
relevant circumstance; the claims to be met by the reinsurance came from that
policy, irrespective of whether they
were reported within 3 years. In that
sense, the loss in respect of which Gordian sought to be indemnified might be
seen to be caused
or contributed to by the existence of the circumstance –
the policy with a reporting period of more than 3 years. But for
the
existence of the policy (with a 7 year reporting period) there would have
been no claims on the reinsurers.
That is not how the arbitrators approached the question. They viewed the
relevant aspect of the FAI policy as creating the risk,
as the existence of the
extended reporting period in the fourth to seventh years. That circumstance,
which increased the risk of
loss occurring, did not cause the loss, because all
the claims were within 3 years. This approach tended to emphasise the
relevance
of the underlying claims against FAI within the 3 years, rather
than the connection between the existence of the (7 year) policy
and (any)
claims under it."
The Court of Appeal saw merit in the approach contrary to that of the
arbitrators in the Reasons. Allsop P
said[42] that
he would not have reached the same conclusion as the arbitrators and went
on[43]:
"Looking at the facts, the definition of cover was excluded or limited by
reference to the circumstances of underlying policies
of insurance with
reporting periods of more than 3 years. That limitation was inserted
because the circumstance, in the view of
reinsurers, was likely to increase the
risk. There was a policy of such a description. That policy gave rise to the
claims. In
that sense the loss can be seen to be caused by the circumstance:
the existence of an underlying policy with an extended reporting
period.
This way of looking at the matter can be seen to reflect the sensible operation
of s 18B in a [manner] which relevantly takes into account the safeguards
built into s 18B by the legislature. This would also be the case if a
policy excluded fire caused by arson. No operation of s 18B could require
an underwriter to pay if the fire was caused by arson; this would be so not
because of some notion of essential scope
of cover, but because the event or
circumstance caused the loss."
- However,
the Court of Appeal desisted from concluding that there was a manifest error of
law upon the face of the award partly on
the ground that a contrary argument to
that put by the reinsurers had been tenable. But, as indicated earlier in these
reasons,
this was not to deny, as the Court of Appeal should have determined,
that, complex though s 18B might be, there had been manifest an error of
law to attract s 38(5)(b)(i) and the grant of leave.
- Should
special leave now be granted with respect to ground 6 as well as
ground 5? Each ground would lead to an order restoring that
of the primary
judge to set aside the award. But ground 5 is logically anterior to
ground 6. If s 18B was never engaged (ground 5), the causation
issue does not arise and there would be no utility in a grant on ground 6.
Accordingly,
because in our view ground 5 succeeds, special leave should be
refused with respect to ground 6. It should, however, be observed
that, in
a sense, the cogency of the reasoning by Allsop P upon the ground 6
issue supports the threshold denial of any application
of s 18B to the
reinsurance treaties with Gordian.
Remaining matters
- Gordian
relies upon a Notice of Contention, in effect to support on additional grounds
the decision of the Court of Appeal. This
decision was to allow the appeal by
Gordian and, in place of the decision of the primary judge, refuse leave to the
reinsurers to
"appeal" on a question of law arising out of the award, within the
meaning of s 38(2) and (4) of the Arbitration Act. In oral submissions
the
range of grounds in the Notice of Contention was reduced.
- Counsel
for Gordian relied upon remarks of Lord Steyn when construing s 1 of the
1979 UK Act in The Santa
Clara[44]
that under that statute a respondent to an award itself did not require leave to
appeal in order to sustain before the court an award
on a ground not relied upon
by the arbitrator.
- However,
as explained earlier in these
reasons[45],
under the Arbitration Act the subject matter of the "appeal" to the Supreme
Court in the present case comprised the errors of law
of which the reinsurers
complained. At the earlier stage of the consideration by the Supreme Court of
an application for a grant
of leave under the Arbitration Act it may be open to
a respondent to resist the grant of leave on the footing that the award is to
be
sustained on other grounds. If so, it also may be that the respondent may rely
upon those other grounds even if they concern
no more than matters of fact.
Were that approach upon an application to grant leave permissible, which it is
unnecessary to decide
here given our agreement in the next paragraph with the
reasons of Kiefel J, caution would be required of the Supreme Court lest
there be defeated the policy of the Arbitration Act that the parties be held to
their bargain to accept the findings of fact by the
arbitrator.
- In
the present case, Gordian sought to draw this Court into consideration of the
treatment by the arbitrators of questions of fact
respecting the relations
between Gordian and the reinsurers, independently of any reliance upon
s 18B of the Insurance Act. In particular, Gordian sought to agitate
questions respecting the existence and extent of the three year limit in the
reinsurance
treaties as disclosed by the documents passing between the relevant
actors, in particular the letter of 15 December 1998. We agree
with what
Kiefel J has written on this subject, leading her Honour to the conclusion
that it cannot be said that the arbitrators
erred in their conclusion.
Orders
- The
grant of special leave should be expanded to include ground 5 but not
ground 6. The appeal should be allowed with costs. The
decisions of the
primary judge to grant leave and allow the "appeal" under the Arbitration Act
should not have been set aside by
the Court of Appeal. The orders of the
primary judge will be restored if orders 2, 3 and 4 of the orders of
the Court of Appeal
entered 29 April 2010 are set aside, and in place
thereof the appeal to that Court is dismissed with costs.
- HEYDON
J. The proceedings in this Court raise many
issues[46].
The anterior issue
- But
there is one issue which is anterior to the rest. That issue is thrown up by
ground 8 of Gordian's Notice of Contention. Gordian
there indicated that it
wished to contend that the decision of the Court of Appeal should be affirmed,
but on the grounds that the
Court of Appeal erroneously failed to decide that
the arbitrators "erred in law by construing the contracts of reinsurance so that
they only applied to D&O policies which provided cover for a period of three
years." Below this will be called "the construction
point". If the arbitrators
did commit that error in relation to the construction point, and if the Court of
Appeal erred in failing
to deal with it, then the trial judge's order setting
aside the award would be incorrect, and the Court of Appeal's order allowing
Gordian's appeal from the trial judge's order would be correct. The issues
which the reinsurers raise about s 18B of the Insurance Act would not
arise. Nor would the issues about inadequate reasons which Gordian raises, for
the alleged inadequacy related only to
s 18B. Nor would issues of
causation. Nor would various issues which Gordian raises in the Notice of
Contention. Nor would various issues
agitated by the amici curiae.
Two preliminary points
- Except
in two particular respects, the reinsurers did not advance any substantive
argument against what Gordian urged in relation
to the merits of the
construction point. But the reinsurers relied on two preliminary points as
absolute bars to consideration of
Gordian's construction point arguments on
their merits.
Is leave to raise the construction point necessary?
- Gordian
raised the construction point before the Court of Appeal, in which it was the
appellant. The Court of Appeal's reasons for
not dealing with the point
proceeded in three steps. First, had an application been made for leave to
appeal under s 38(4)-(5) of
the Arbitration Act on this ground, it would
not have been granted. Secondly, to deal with the point would call for a
factual examination
of the dealings between the parties in great detail.
Thirdly, to deal with the point would reveal that the Arbitration Act had failed
in its role of limiting review of arbitration awards. Hence "parties who wish
to complain about questions of law arising out of
an award must obtain leave to
appeal."[47]
- The
reasons for judgment of the Court of Appeal spoke twice of "complaints" about an
award, twice of "complaints" about questions
of law arising out of an award, and
once of "complaints" about the reasons for an
award[48].
They did so as if each of these propositions were identical. There is a
distinction between an "appeal" against an order and a
"complaint" about the
reasoning which led to that order. Appeals lie only against orders, not against
the reasoning which led to
them[49]. An
order is the outcome of legal proceedings; it is distinct from the process which
led to that outcome. Similarly, an award is
the outcome of an arbitration; it
is distinct from the process which led to that outcome. In s 38, the word
"award" is used several
times to mean "outcome". Section 38(1) denies the
Supreme Court jurisdiction "to set aside or remit an award" on certain grounds.
When a s 38(2) appeal has been determined, one power of the Supreme Court is to
confirm, vary or set aside the award (s 38(3)(a)).
Another is to remit the
award for further consideration (s 38(3)(b)), in which case the arbitrator or
umpire to whom the award has
been remitted is to make another award within three
months. Where the award of an arbitrator or umpire is varied in an appeal under
s 38(2), the award as varied is to have effect as if it were the award of the
arbitrator or umpire (s 38(7)). An award shall, unless
otherwise agreed in
writing by the parties, have included in it a statement of the reasons for
making the award (s 29(1)(c)), but
the reasons do not constitute the award.
The Court of Appeal erred in equating appeals against awards with complaints
about the reasons
for, or questions of law arising out of, awards. Section 38
is in terms directed only to challenges to the award – the orders
made by
arbitrators – even though the challenges may raise questions of law about
the reasoning that led to those orders.
Section 38 does not apply to attempts,
not to challenge awards, but to sustain them by raising another question of law
urging a particular
answer.
- It
was not procedurally open to Gordian to seek leave from Einstein J under
s 38(4)-(5). Section 38(2) provides that an appeal shall
lie to the
Supreme Court on any question of law arising out of an award. Gordian was not
the party which desired to appeal, for
the award gave it a substantial measure
of success; it was the reinsurers which sought leave to appeal. Hence the
question whether
leave would be granted, or would have been granted, if it had
been sought, is beside the point. Where a party contends that an award
is
correct because of a question of law which the arbitrators either decided
correctly, or failed to decide correctly, the Arbitration
Act imposes no express
requirement on that party to seek and obtain leave to raise that question. It
only imposes on an appellant
a requirement to obtain leave to appeal against the
award. The Arbitration Act is not to be presumed to alter the conventional
processes
of appeal in a manner about which its terms are silent. To treat the
Arbitration Act as requiring leave on points of contention
as well as points of
appeal is to assume a particular construction. And assuming that particular
construction as an answer to the
question how far the Arbitration Act limits
review is to assume the answer to the question posed.
- It
may be accepted that, as the Court of Appeal said, a function of the Arbitration
Act is to limit appeals against awards. But
that function is served by the
requirement that there be a grant of leave for the appeal. To permit the party
which is not appealing
to raise other questions as a means of sustaining the
award does not undermine the finality of awards. To permit questions of law
to
be raised by way of contention is a means of ensuring the defeat of applications
for the review of arbitration awards which are
unsatisfactory applications in
the sense that the award is entirely sound, though not necessarily for the
reasons given by the arbitrators.
It does not expand the scope for reviewing
arbitration awards.
- In
Vitol SA v Norelf
Ltd[50]
Lord Steyn gave reasons supportive of that conclusion, with which Lord Mackay of
Clashfern LC, Lord Griffiths, Lord Nolan and Lord
Hoffmann agreed. The
context was not identical to the present, but it was similar. The House of
Lords was considering whether s
1(7) of the Arbitration Act 1979 (UK)
applied to respondents. Section 1(7) provided:
"No appeal shall lie to the Court of Appeal from a decision of the High Court
on an appeal under this section unless –
(a) the High Court or the Court of Appeal gives leave; and
(b) it is certified by the High Court that the question of law to which its
decision relates either is one of general public importance
or is one which for
some other special reason should be considered by the Court of
Appeal."
Lord Steyn
said[51]:
"Under the stated case procedure, which existed before the Act of 1979, a
respondent who wished to argue that the award should be
sustained for reasons
not expressed or fully expressed in the award or not considered or upheld at
first instance did not have to
obtain a certificate of the type envisaged by
section 1(7). The idea that in 1979 the legislature intended to make the
position
of a respondent, who had won an arbitration, more difficult by
requiring him to obtain a certificate under section 1(7) before he
would be
permitted on appeal to the Court of Appeal to defend the award on other grounds
is convincingly refuted by the history and
policy of the Act of 1979. The
primary purpose of the Act of 1979 was to reduce the extent of the court's
supervisory jurisdiction
over arbitration awards. It did so by substituting for
the special case procedure a limited system of filtered appeals on questions
of
law. The change was intended to tilt the balance toward greater emphasis on the
finality of arbitration awards. Now postulate
a respondent in the Court of
Appeal who at first instance won on the main point but lost on a sound
alternative argument. He loses
on the main point on appeal. If he requires a
certificate to argue the alternative case there is a risk that he may not obtain
a
certificate. A perfectly good award may then be set aside. In a very
relevant sense such a risk would imperil the finality of arbitration
awards. It
would also be a manifestly unfair consequence in cases when the respondent has a
good alternative argument which does
not pass the test of being a question of
general public importance, eg the construction of a 'one off' exception clause.
And it
is no answer to say that in some cases a judge may grant a certificate
for some other special reasons."
Lord Steyn described the view he rejected as
"indefensible"[52].
He went on: "It militates against the finality of arbitration awards, it would
cause injustice and, if adopted, would be perceived
to be a serious flaw in our
arbitration system." The same is true of the view that a respondent requires
leave under s 38.
- The
reinsurers submitted that if Gordian was correct in arguing that a respondent to
an appeal could rely on points of law without
obtaining leave, there was no
textual reason why it could not also rely on points of fact without obtaining
leave, and that was so
"rebarbatively unattractive [a] possibility" as to
suggest some error in Gordian's construction. This Court, however, for example,
often puts up with just such possibilities in many appeals. It is commonplace
for special leave to be granted on a short, interesting
and important point of
law which, if it is a good one, leaves the Court obliged to listen to arguments
raised by notice of contention
and addressed to it as of right which are long,
boring and unimportant. This can be necessary if the curial function is to
attain
just outcomes, rather than simply to enjoy interesting journeys. The
attainment of just outcomes is often accompanied by boredom.
The function of
arbitration, as much as that of conventional litigation, is the attainment of
just outcomes.
- If
the issue whether leave to appeal would have been granted to debate the
construction point is material, it should be noted that
the construction point
involves questions of law. It involves a question of law in the mundane sense
that the interpretation of
a written agreement between private parties is a
question of
law[53]. But
beyond that mundane question of law there may be two specific but important
errors of law. The arbitrators may have erred
in their use of the phrase
"common understanding and intention of the parties". That suggests that they
erred in searching for the
subjective intentions of the parties. That is an
extremely important matter, not always well
understood[54].
It is very well established in this Court, and indeed in other ultimate
appellate
courts[55],
that the question is not what contracting parties subjectively intended,
believed or understood. The question is, subject to special
common law or
equitable rules usually based on error or
disadvantage[56],
what each party by words or conduct would have led a reasonable person in the
position of the other party to
believe[57]. A
departure from these principles by arbitrators is a serious matter. They are
not principles merely reflective of some quaint
minor guide to construction.
They go to central substantive conceptions of the law of contract in the
Anglo-Australian common law.
A second respect in which the arbitrators may have
erred is their seeming reliance on post-contractual events as a guide to
contractual
interpretation. Some see that as more controversial, but it is a
very important question of law.
- That
deals with the first and third of the Court of Appeal's points. The merit of
the second point in this particular case depends
on considering what is actually
involved in Gordian's argument. As will be seen, it is not necessary to examine
a mass of detailed
evidence. The relevant materials comprise only a few pages.
Does s 22(2) of the Arbitration Act defeat Gordian?
- The
reinsurers put the second preliminary point thus. They submitted, in answer not
only to ground 8, but also to grounds 5-7 and
9-12, in the Notice of Contention
that those grounds "ignore the fact that, under s 22(2) of the [Arbitration
Act], the arbitrators
were not bound to observe the strict rules of evidence and
procedure or common law rules of construction of contracts". For this
proposition they gave four citations, to be analysed below. The reinsurers also
submitted: "the parties had expressly permitted
the arbitrators to rely on
their own knowledge and expertise". For this they gave two references to the
transcript of argument before
the arbitrators. The reinsurers then submitted:
"All of the criticisms of the arbitrators' methodology fall away once these
points
are recognised."
- These
points may answer some aspects of grounds 5-7 and 9-12. They do not answer
ground 8.
- Section
22 of the Arbitration Act provides:
"(1) Unless otherwise agreed in writing by the parties to the arbitration
agreement, any question that arises for determination in
the course of
proceedings under the agreement shall be determined according to law.
(2) If the parties to an arbitration agreement so agree in writing, the
arbitrator or umpire may determine any question that arises
for determination in
the course of proceedings under the agreement by reference to considerations of
general justice and fairness."
According to the arbitrators, the reinsurance treaties contained an agreement
attracting s 22(2). But what does the expression "considerations
of general
justice and fairness" mean?
- One
of the citations to which the reinsurers referred was Eagle Star Insurance Co
Ltd v Yuval Insurance Co
Ltd[58].
The English Court of Appeal had under consideration a clause providing that the
arbitrators were not bound by the strict rules
of law, and enjoining them to
decide "according to an equitable rather than a strictly legal interpretation of
the provisions of"
the agreement. It was submitted that the clause was void as
ousting the jurisdiction of the courts. The Court of Appeal, in ex
tempore
judgments, rejected that submission, but did not specifically propound any
construction supporting the reinsurers in this
appeal. Lord Denning MR said
that the clause "only ousts technicalities and strict
constructions."[59]
Goff LJ said that the clause rendered the arbitrators "able to view the matter
more leniently and having regard more generally to
commercial considerations
than would be done if the matter were heard in
Court"[60]. On
that point Shaw LJ agreed with both judgments. Their Lordships did not say
whether the clause rendered the interpretation inquiry
"objective" or
"subjective". In any event the relevant clause was different from s 22(2).
- The
second citation to which the reinsurers referred was a passage in Mustill and
Boyd[61]. The
passage referred to treated Eagle Star Insurance Co Ltd v Yuval Insurance Co
Ltd as offering a narrow interpretation – the second narrowest out of
seven – of a particular type of provision. The learned
authors gave two
instances of that type of
provision[62].
One was: "The arbitrator shall be entitled to decide according to equity and
good conscience and shall not be obliged to follow
the strict rules of law".
The other was: "The arbitrator shall be entitled to act as amiable
compositeur." Again, the clauses are different from s 22(2); and,
again, the learned authors, in their discussion of the seven interpretations,
did not offer any opinion about whether the objective rule of contractual
interpretation or the rule against taking into account
post-contractual events
were to be abandoned.
- The
third citation referred to by the reinsurers was a passage from O'Neill and
Woloniecki[63].
That passage discussed s 33(1) of the Arbitration Act 1996 (UK), which
provided that an arbitral tribunal is obliged to:
"(a) act fairly and impartially as between the parties, giving each party a
reasonable opportunity of putting his case and dealing
with that of his
opponent, and
(b) adopt procedures suitable to the circumstances of the particular case,
avoiding unnecessary delay or expense, so as to provide
a fair means for the
resolution of the matters falling to be
determined."
The learned authors say nothing to suggest that the legislation empowers an
arbitrator to depart from the common law rules of contractual
interpretation.
- The
fourth citation referred to by the reinsurers was a discussion by Young J on the
meaning of s 22(2) in Woodbud Pty Ltd v Warea Pty
Ltd[64].
Young J treated s 22 as deriving from "the conception of an amiable
compositeur." He uttered the following tentative remarks:
"Probably the clause goes further than evidentiary and procedural problems and
permits an amiable compositeur to disregard such rules
as the parol evidence
rule, the rule that contracts by specialty cannot be varied by oral contract ...
and the rule that one cannot
look to subsequent conduct to construe a contract
...
The amiable compositeur may also disregard the rule that collateral contracts
cannot be inconsistent with the main contract, he
or she may apply principles of
rectification and perhaps may also supplement the contract by filling out the
contractual regime in
areas where the parties have not thought it through. It
is uncertain how far, if at all, the amiable compositeur can go beyond
this."
Of course, to apply principles of rectification is not to depart from legal
principle. These remarks were not only tentative, but
also were obiter dicta,
because Young J held that for various procedural reasons s 22 did not
apply. Even if this passage is correct
about the subsequent conduct rule, which
is, with respect, to be doubted, it is silent about subjective/objective
interpretation.
Like the other three citations, the passage is not strongly
persuasive against permitting Gordian's construction argument to be
considered.
It is to be noted that the reinsurers did not contend that s 22(2) was
supportive of any particular step in the detailed
reasoning of the arbitrators
on construction.
- The
reinsurers' submission that "the parties had expressly permitted the arbitrators
to rely on their own knowledge and expertise"
does not seem to apply to ground 8
of the Notice of Contention, whatever its application to other grounds. In
construing the contract
the arbitrators did not purport to rely on any knowledge
and expertise distinct from their skills in contractual construction. The
transcript passages relied on are irrelevant to the construction point.
The construction point
- The
arbitrators saw the question as being whether any of the reinsurance treaties
covered the FAI policy. The FAI policy covered
claims made and notified to
Gordian within a period of seven years from 31 May 1999. The arbitrators
saw that question as turning
on the ambit of the 1999 reinsurance treaty.
- The
documentary arrangements between the reinsurers and Gordian were,
characteristically for this industry, disorganised and casual
to a degree. But
the parties do agree that there was a contract. Gordian contended, and the
reinsurers did not deny, but on occasion
seemed positively to accept, that the
contractual documents are to be found in "reinsurance placing slip No.
99AX4050", which each
of the reinsurers stamped and signed on various dates
between 23 and 31 December 1998, and documents attached to that document,
particularly
a letter of 15 December 1998 also stamped and signed by each
reinsurer on those dates. The serious, precise, decorous, methodical
and
regular solemnity of this conduct, giving the relevant documents special
significance in a sea of chaos, strongly supports Gordian's
contention. It also
strongly suggests that while anything that happened later may have been an
attempt to negotiate a variation
of the contract, it was not part of the
contract as initially formed.
- The
arbitrators noted that the:
"1998 reinsurance treaty did not expressly include, limit or exclude cover in
respect of run-off policies or policies for extended
periods or with extended
reporting periods other than by a Professional Indemnity North America ('PINA')
clause which excluded claims
which arose in the United States of America or
Canada out of policies with reporting periods exceeding 36 months beyond the
expiry
of the policy unless specially accepted (exclusion (iii)) or which were
issued for periods longer than 12 months plus 'odd time'
not exceeding 18
months in all unless specially accepted (exclusion (v))."
This "PINA clause", dealing with North American risk, was not applicable to the
claims in issue in the arbitration.
- Later
the arbitrators said:
"Apart from the PINA clause, neither the 1998 reinsurance treaty nor the slips
signed and stamped by the reinsurers in late 1998
expressly included, excluded
or limited cover for policies for extended periods or with extended reporting
periods."
- The
arbitrators then proceeded to make a series of findings. They said:
"According to the reinsurers, the context for Gordian's request in its letter of
15 December 1998 for 'multi year' reinsurance cover
was that, in accordance with
general industry practice, the then current 1998 reinsurance treaty applied to
D&O policies which
provided cover for a period of 12 months plus odd time
not exceeding 18 months in all."
Why did the reinsurers make that submission? The "period of 12 months plus
odd time not exceeding 18 months in all" corresponded
with exclusion (v) of the
PINA clause, but that only applied to North America.
- The
arbitrators said:
"Gordian disputed that premise. However, it did not offer any plausible
alternative. It was effectively left with the unattractive
proposition that the
1998 reinsurance treaty covered every Gordian D&O policy irrespective of the
period of cover for which it
provided, even policies which were for an unlimited
period, at least if such policies were within Gordian's 'established acceptance
and underwriting policy in respect of' D&O
policies."
The quoted words come from Art 16 of the 1998 treaty, which provided:
"The Reinsured undertakes not to introduce any change in its established
acceptance and underwriting policy in respect of the class
or classes of
business to which this Agreement applies without prior approval of the
Reinsurers, and any reinsurance arrangements
relating thereto shall be
maintained or be deemed to be maintained unaltered for the purpose of this
Agreement."
In the reinsurance placing slip issued in December 1998 and signed by the four
reinsurers, opposite the word "CLASS" appeared the
following:
"Business underwritten by the Reinsured and classified by them as Professional
Indemnity, Directors and Officers Liability Insurance
(which term includes
Company Reimbursement Insurance) and Superannuation Trustee
Liability."
Opposite the word "WORDING" appeared the words: "As expiring as far as
applicable, amendments to be agreed by Reinsurers." Hence,
contrary to what the
arbitrators said, Gordian did have a "plausible alternative" to the reinsurers'
argument that their reinsurance
obligations only applied to D and O policies
providing cover for "12 months plus odd time not exceeding 18 months in all".
The "plausible
alternative" – which is not an "unattractive proposition"
– was that the reinsurers were protected by the obligation
on Gordian not
to change its "established acceptance and underwriting policy", about which the
reinsurers had full knowledge from
disclosures made to them. If that policy was
to issue cover for long periods, nothing stopped the 1998 reinsurance treaty
applying.
But if that policy was to issue cover for short periods, they could
not be lengthened unless Art 16 was complied with. The protection
for the
reinsurers – the "plausible alternative" – did not lie in specific
short time periods, but in adherence to Gordian's
established acceptance and
underwriting policy. Gordian's submission that this was true for both the 1998
and the 1999 years is
sound.
- After
the arbitrators stated a step in their reasoning to which it will be necessary
to return below, they said:
"[W]e are satisfied that the 1998 reinsurance treaty applied to D&O policies
which provided cover for a period of 12 months plus
odd time not exceeding 18
months in all."
They gave no explanation for this conclusion other than the following:
"That was plainly the common understanding and intention of the parties when the
1999 reinsurance treaty was arranged at the end
of 1998 and Gordian's letter of
15 December 1998 was initialled and stamped by all reinsurers which signed and
stamped the slip for
the 1999 reinsurance
treaty."
The arbitrators did not explain why the period fixed by exclusion (v) of the
PINA clause should apply rather than any other period.
They did not explain how
the "common understanding and intention of the parties" not referred to in any
contractual document or
conversation was material in law. Nor did the
reinsurers[65].
- The
arbitrators then said:
"The reinsurers accept that they agreed by the reinsurance treaties to cover
D&O policies which covered claims which were made
and notified to Gordian
within an extended period of three years and that the reinsurance treaties
should be regarded as having that
extended operation although it might not have
been satisfactorily recorded."
But was the acceptance soundly based? And what is the relationship between the
"extended period of three years" and "12 months plus
odd time not exceeding
18 months in all"? Why did the arbitrators select that three year
period?
- The
arbitrators continued:
"Gordian's subsequent communications with Aon Re and internal memoranda
confirmed that the reinsurance which it had sought and obtained
covered claims
which were made and notified to Gordian within an extended period of 3 years.
Nothing in the subsequent events, including
the reinsurers' attempts to have
that position formally recorded in the documentation, causes us to doubt that
the reinsurance treaties
did not cover the FAI D&O run-off policy which
covered claims which were made and notified to Gordian within the much longer
period permitted by that policy of 7
years."
The arbitrators did not explain how "subsequent communications", "internal
memoranda" and "subsequent events", to which they had
also referred earlier,
could be material in law to the issue of construing a contract complete before
they happened. Nor did the
reinsurers[66].
- Underlying
the arbitrators' reasoning may be the circumstance that exclusion (v) in the
PINA clause, which spoke of "policies issued
for periods longer than 12 months
plus 'odd time' not exceeding 18 months in all", was omitted after 1998. The
new PINA clause,
however, retained exclusion (iii), dealing with "claims made
coverages with an extended reporting period obligation exceeding 36
months
beyond the expiry of the policy unless specially accepted." This may explain
the shift from references to the shorter period
to references to a three year
period – but not convincingly, since it does not explain why the PINA
clause, relating only to
North American risk, was relevant at all.
- The
reinsurers described what was said by the arbitrators in these passages as
"factual findings". So far as they are factual findings,
they are factual
findings relevant only to a question of law, the interpretation of the
reinsurance contract, and factual findings
themselves affected by errors of law.
- Success
for Gordian on the construction point will not flow merely from destructive
criticisms of the arbitrators' reasoning. What
was Gordian's positive case on
construction? Gordian argued that the key terms of the contract for present
purposes were to be found
in the letter of 15 December 1998 from Gordian to
Gordian's broker dealing with the "$10M XS $10M" treaty. That letter was
attached
to the reinsurance placing slip and, like that slip, stamped by all
reinsurers by 31 December 1998. In par 4.0, the letter said:
"For 1999 we seek
the following". Among the matters then listed were: "multi year cover (see
paragraph 6.0)" and "equivalent cover
to 1998 (or better)". Gordian argued that
the specification that cover was to be equivalent to 1998 or better was a
stipulation
that there was to be no exclusion of or limit on multi year cover,
because there had been none in the expiring reinsurance contract
for 1998.
Gordian also argued that the reference to "multi year cover" indicates that
there was to be no limitation to any particular
time frame for the contracts in
relation to which reinsurance was to be provided such as three years. Are those
arguments invalidated
by par 6.0 of the letter? It said:
"As I mentioned earlier, we do not have the treaty contracts for 1998, nor on
checking, do we appear to have the wordings for 1997
or 1996 and will follow up
with Flemings, however, I recall that there was a limit on the treaty that it
would cover original contracts
issued for 12 months plus odd term but not to
exceed 18 months in all. This is certainly the case pertaining to USA/Canada
risks
as set out in the 'PINA Special
Clause.'"
Gordian argued that the writer's recollection was correct for USA/Canada risks,
to which the PINA clause in its 1998 form applied,
but not for other risks, for
in relation to them there was no limitation for 1998. Paragraph 6.0
continued:
"Multi year contracts have gained popularity in recent years and we are
frequently asked to write for periods of two to three years,
usually as a
stretched aggregate over the terms or on annual limits basis. In some cases, we
are asked after the first year of a
multi year contract to 'roll forward' the
contract for another year so that a new (2 or 3 year) period commences. Our
competitors
are able to offer this and we have been offering it within our
retention but need to obtain reinsurers agreement to use the treaty
capacity to
write multi year contracts and would appreciate the Everest's comments on this
issue, including under the 'PINA Special
Risks
Clause.'"
Gordian accepted that this language proceeded from the erroneous assumption that
the 1998 treaties did not apply to multi year contracts
– ie those
extending for any period beyond the year of the reinsurance treaty, whether for
"12 months plus odd term but not
to exceed 18 months in all", or longer. But
Gordian submitted nonetheless that the language was stipulating multi year
cover, as
distinct from multi year cover but only up to a three year limit,
which the reinsurers contended for. Gordian submitted that when
all four
reinsurers stamped the reinsurance placing slip and also stamped the 15 December
1998 letter attached to it, they accepted
that stipulation.
- The
reinsurers did not respond to Gordian's submission. That submission is correct.
It is appropriate to read cl 6.0 in that way
so as to make it harmonious with cl
4.0, and that clearly refers to unconditional and unlimited multi year cover.
- What
about a letter from one of the reinsurers to Gordian's broker on
22 December 1998? It confirms a quote and says, inter alia:
"Original
contracts: Up to three years is acceptable. PINA Clause to be amended."
Gordian submitted that on its true construction,
this statement related only to
the PINA clause. That is correct. Even if that is not so, as the arbitrators
found, the 22 December
1998 letter did not go to two of the reinsurers; it
was, unlike the 15 December 1998 letter, not affixed to the reinsurance
placing
slip; and hence it is at most an item of pre-contractual negotiation not
reflected in the contract itself. The reinsurers did not
respond to Gordian's
submission. Gordian's submission is correct.
- The
assent by all four reinsurers to the 15 December 1998 letter was manifested in
solemn formalities – their stamping of it
and its attachment to the
reinsurance placing slip, also stamped by them on various dates from 23 to
31 December 1998. This solemnly
formalised assent demonstrates that
Gordian's submissions on the construction point are correct.
- However,
the arbitrators made a finding which, although it was stated as part of the
arbitrators' reasoning quoted at some length
above[67], is
conveniently to be dealt with now.
"We are not persuaded that the FAI D&O run-off policy, which covered claims
which were made and notified to Gordian within the
extended period permitted by
that policy of 7 years from 31 May 1999, was within its then 'established
acceptance and underwriting
policy in respect of' D&O policies."
It is necessary to deal with this finding because, if it had been open to the
arbitrators, it would have created an obstacle to Gordian's
success. Indeed
Gordian conceded that that finding was "utterly fatal" to it, if it were
properly made. But by ground 7 of the
Notice of Contention, Gordian contended
that the finding had not been properly made. That was because the issue had
been expressly
withdrawn by the reinsurers on the first day of the arbitration.
The withdrawal arose as a consequence of amending the reinsurers'
cross-claim to
delete an allegation that the underwriting "represented a change to the
established underwriting policy of the claimant".
The contention which Gordian
put to this Court was also put to the Court of Appeal. It
said[68]:
"There are powerful considerations in support of this contention: the pleading
of the point appears to have been abandoned, no
evidence was led by the
reinsurers on the question and the hearing otherwise appears to have been so
conducted."
With respect, these points are sound, and Gordian's argument must be accepted.
- The
reinsurers argued in this Court that some written submissions on both sides
addressed the question, that Gordian's established
acceptance and underwriting
policy was part of the factual controversy, and thus that the arbitrators were
entitled to make the finding
of which Gordian complains. One difficulty is that
the written submissions in question were lodged with the arbitrators and
exchanged
between the parties before the amendment to the cross-claim dropped
the issue: when it was silently dropped, so were the corresponding
parts of the
written submissions. A further difficulty is that the arbitrators were
reminded, in Gordian's closing written submissions,
that the issue had been
abandoned. This Court was taken to no denial by the reinsurers of that
assertion.
- The
reinsurers also argued that they had cross-examined one of Gordian's witnesses
on the issue. In fact the cross-examination was
on another point.
- Gordian's
construction of the reinsurance contract is correct. No claim for rectification
was made in this Court. No other issue
arises.
The merits of arbitration
- The
arbitration proceedings began on 15 October 2004 when Gordian served points of
claim. This appeal comes to a close seven years
later. The attractions of
arbitration are said to lie in speed, cheapness, expertise and secrecy. It is
not intended to make any
criticisms in these respects of the arbitrators, of
Einstein J, or of the Court of Appeal, for on the material in the appeal books
none are fairly open. But it must be said that speed and cheapness are not
manifest in the process to which the parties agreed.
A commercial trial judge
would have ensured more speed and less expense. On the construction point it is
unlikely that the arbitrators
had any greater relevant expertise than a
commercial trial judge. Secrecy was lost once the reinsurers exercised their
right to seek leave to appeal. The
proceedings reveal no other point of
superiority over conventional litigation. One point of inferiority they reveal
is that there
have been four tiers of adjudication, not three. Comment on these
melancholy facts would be superfluous.
Orders
- It
follows that the appeal and the balance of the application for special leave to
appeal must be dismissed with costs.
- KIEFEL
J. These proceedings concern an Award of arbitration which determined the
rights of the parties to treaties for reinsurance
and the effect of
s 18B(1) of the Insurance Act 1902 (NSW) upon the obligation of the
appellant reinsurers under the treaties to indemnify the respondent, Gordian
Runoff Limited ("Gordian").
The New South Wales Court of Appeal held that leave
should not have been granted by the primary judge, under s 38(4)(b) of the
Commercial Arbitration Act 1984 (NSW), to the reinsurers to bring an
appeal with respect to that Award.
- Gordian
was an underwriter of professional indemnity ("PI") insurance and directors and
officers liability ("D&O") insurance.
Prior to December 1998 its PI and
D&O portfolio was partially reinsured under a treaty for reinsurance whereby
it was agreed
that risks underwritten by Gordian with respect to those classes
of insurance would be the subject of excess of loss reinsurance.
The reinsurers
included the first and second appellants, Westport Insurance Corporation
("Westport") and Assetinsure Pty Limited
("Assetinsure"). That treaty ("the
1998 reinsurance treaty") was due to expire on 31 December 1998.
- Gordian,
together with a Lloyd's syndicate, had previously written a D&O policy for
FAI Insurance Limited ("FAI"). In the latter
part of 1998 a takeover of FAI by
HIH Winterthur International Holdings Limited was imminent and FAI's broker
negotiated with Gordian
for a run-off policy. Those negotiations culminated in
an agreement, on 23 December 1998, that Gordian would indemnify FAI for claims
in respect of wrongful acts occurring before the effective date, later agreed to
be 31 May 1999, which were made and notified to
Gordian within seven years of
that date ("the FAI policy").
- On
17 December 1998 Gordian's broker approached Westport for reinsurance of a part,
or layer, of Gordian's PI and D&O portfolio
for the 1999 calendar year ("the
$10 million in excess of $10 million layer"). One of the matters discussed by
the broker with Westport
was the prospect of "multi year covers". In that
regard a copy of Gordian's letter to the broker of 15 December 1998 was
forwarded
to Westport. The letter did not mention Gordian's proposal with
respect to the FAI policy or its term, but it stated that Gordian
had often been
asked by clients to write insurance for periods of two to three years and that
it wished to seek "reinsurers [sic]
agreement to use the treaty capacity to
write multi year contracts". Gordian asked the broker to seek comments from the
lead reinsurer
(who did not, however, participate in the 1999 reinsurance
treaty). Westport's quotation on its proportion of the layer, of 22 December
1998, included the statement: "Original contracts: Up to three years is
acceptable. PINA
Clause[[69]] to
be amended."
- On
23 December 1998, the day on which the agreement between Gordian and FAI was
struck, a placing slip was signed and stamped by
Westport, Assetinsure and the
third appellant, Munich Reinsurance Company of Australasia Limited, with respect
to the $10 million
in excess of $10 million layer. The latter signed again on
29 December 1998. NAC Reinsurance International Limited ("NAC") signed
on 31
December 1998 (NAC's reinsurance liabilities were subsequently acquired by the
fourth appellant, XL Re Limited). Each of the
reinsurers initialled and stamped
a copy of Gordian's letter of 15 December 1998. Only one reinsurer sighted
Westport's quotation
of 22 December 1998, but it was conceded by all reinsurers
in the later arbitration proceedings that the relevant reinsurance treaties
covered "D&O policies which covered claims which were made and notified to
Gordian within an extended period of three years".
- Other
reinsurance treaties were effected in 1999 with respect to the lower layers of
Gordian's portfolio – the $5 million in
excess of $5 million layer and the
$3 million in excess of $2 million layer. The reinsurers signing placing slips
for these treaties
were Westport, Assetinsure, Zurich Insurance Company
Reinsurance (the reinsurance liabilities of which were acquired by the fifth
appellant, Scor Switzerland Ltd) and Copenhagen Reinsurance Company Ltd. The
arbitrators found that the terms applying to the treaty
for the $10 million in
excess of $10 million layer were not materially different from the terms of the
treaties for the lower layers.
In these reasons "the 1999 reinsurance treaty"
refers to the treaty for the higher layer and also to the terms of the other
treaties.
- The
placing slip for the 1999 reinsurance treaty was expressed to apply to "[c]laims
made on policies attaching during the period
1 January 1999 to 31 March
2000"[70]. The
type of reinsurance was confirmed to be "[e]xcess of loss" and the "class" to be
"[b]usiness underwritten by the Reinsured
and classified by them as Professional
Indemnity, Directors and Officers Liability Insurance". It did not contain
further terms
but rather the statement that "wording" was "[a]s expiring as far
as applicable", a reference to the 1998 reinsurance treaty, and
"amendments to
be agreed by Reinsurers." The placing slip was also stamped "all terms,
wordings, special acceptances [or agreements]
and amendments to be agreed by
[the relevant reinsurer]." All but XL Re Limited provided for a warranty by
Gordian of "no more favourable
terms".
- The
1998 reinsurance treaty was expressed to apply to claims made on policies
attaching during the period 1 January 1998 to 31 December
1998. The class of
business covered was business underwritten by Gordian and classified by it as PI
and D&O insurance. The
treaty contained one clause, the PINA clause, which
excluded claims arising in the United States of America or Canada out of
policies
having reporting periods in excess of 36 months after the expiry of the
policy, or which were issued for periods longer than 12 months
plus "odd" time
not exceeding 18 months, unless specially accepted. It did not otherwise
include or exclude policies having an extended
reporting period, which is to say
the period within which claims were to be made or notified.
- No
other wording of the 1999 reinsurance treaty was the subject of further
agreement between the parties. On 20 January 1999 Gordian's
broker sent draft
wording to Gordian and Westport. Gordian advised that it was in order, but
asked for confirmation that cover would
extend "for policies that are issued for
terms in excess of 12 months (provided of course that the original policy
incepts between
01/01/99 and 31/03/00)." Westport agreed with the proposed
wording, but not until shortly prior to the expiry of the 1999 reinsurance
treaty.
- In
2001 and 2002, after Gordian was notified of circumstances which could give rise
to a claim under the FAI policy and the reinsurers
were so advised, further
attention was directed to revised wording for the 1999 reinsurance treaty. In
particular, it appears that
two of the reinsurers raised the issue of an
exclusion of policies issued for periods longer than three years, but the
addition of
such an exclusion was never agreed upon.
Dispute and arbitration
- The
reinsurers did not accept that claims made under the FAI policy were properly
the subject of the 1999 reinsurance treaty. They
contended that the treaty did
not respond to that policy because the policy covered claims made or notified
within seven years from
its inception, not three. The parties submitted their
dispute to arbitration in accordance with the terms of the 1999 reinsurance
treaty and appointed three arbitrators.
- The
Award of the arbitrators, expressed with respect to the $10 million in excess of
$10 million layer, was that the 1999 reinsurance
treaty applied to claims which
were made under the FAI policy "within 3 years from the inception of that policy
but no other claims".
The process of reasoning by which that conclusion was
reached was not one simply of the construction of the terms of the 1999
reinsurance
treaty. Indeed, the arbitrators' view of the treaty terms favoured
the reinsurers. It was reached by the arbitrators applying s 18B(1) of the
Insurance Act to the treaty.
- The
arbitrators' findings with respect to the indemnity provided by the 1999
reinsurance treaty may be summarised as follows. The
nature of the FAI policy,
as a run-off policy, did not assume importance. The issue was whether the
treaty "covered claims which
were made and notified to Gordian within the
extended period permitted by that policy of 7 years from 31 May 1999." When the
1999
reinsurance treaty was arranged the common understanding of the parties was
that the indemnity provided by the 1998 reinsurance treaty
would apply, namely
that it would apply to D&O policies which provided cover for a period of 12
months, plus odd time not exceeding
18 months in all. The arbitrators accepted
the reinsurers' contention that this cover accorded with the general industry
practice
at the time for this type of insurance and that it explained Gordian's
request for "multi year" reinsurance. Although disputing
this, Gordian's
alternative proposition, that the 1998 reinsurance treaty covered every D&O
policy written by Gordian irrespective
of the period of cover the policy
provided, did not commend itself to the arbitrators.
- To
these findings the arbitrators were able to add that the reinsurers accepted
that they had agreed, by the 1999 reinsurance treaty,
to cover D&O policies
which covered claims which were made and notified to Gordian within an extended
reporting period of three
years, although this may not have been satisfactorily
recorded. The reinsurers sought rectification of the treaties, if
necessary.
- The
conclusion expressed by the arbitrators was that the 1999 reinsurance treaty
"do[es] not cover the 3-year claims under the FAI
D&O run-off policy
although they were made within 3 years from the inception of that policy because
the policy covered claims
which were made and notified to Gordian within
7 years from its inception". The arbitrators, however, went on to apply s
18B(1) to reach their ultimate conclusion, that the 1999 reinsurance treaty
applied to claims made within three years of the inception of
the FAI
policy.
- Section
18B(1) provides:
"Where by or under the provisions of a contract of insurance entered into,
reinstated or renewed after the commencement of this section:
(a) the circumstances in which the insurer is bound to indemnify the insured are
so defined as to exclude or limit the liability
of the insurer to indemnify the
insured on the happening of particular events or on the existence of particular
circumstances, and
(b) the liability of the insurer has been so defined because the happening of
those events or the existence of those circumstances
was in the view of the
insurer likely to increase the risk of loss occurring,
the insured shall not be disentitled to be indemnified by the insurer by reason
only of those provisions of the contract of insurance
if, on the balance of
probability, the loss in respect of which the insured seeks to be indemnified
was not caused or contributed
to by the happening of those events or the
existence of those circumstances, unless in all the circumstances it is not
reasonable
for the insurer to be bound to indemnify the
insured."
- The
sub-section is not without difficulty in its application, as will be discussed
later in these reasons. However, its purpose
is clear enough. It was drawn
from s 138 of the Consumer Credit Act 1981 (NSW). The concern of
s 138, as the New South Wales Law Reform Commission
observed[71],
was with the unfair practice of some insurers who relied upon exclusion or
limitation clauses otherwise than "where the loss is
caused or contributed to by
the happening of the events or circumstances to which the clauses are directed."
Where the event or circumstance
has a "true nexus with the loss", the clauses
could properly be invoked. Where it does not, it would not ordinarily be
unreasonable
to require the insurer to provide the indemnity. However, the
Commission also recommended that a proviso be added, which allowed
consideration
as to whether it was not reasonable for the insurer to be bound to do
so[72].
- An
example given by the New South Wales Law Reform Commission of an exclusion to
which the provision was directed, was one which
denied an indemnity under a
motor vehicle policy where the driver was unlicensed or disqualified. A vehicle
driven by such a driver
may be involved in an accident in circumstances entirely
due to the fault of another driver. In such a case it is unlikely that
the
absence of a licence could be shown to have "caused or contributed to" the
loss[73].
- It
may also be observed that the sub-section is not expressed to apply to
reinsurance. Its evident purpose is the protection of
consumers of insurance
services, whose bargaining position might not be thought to be analogous to that
of insurer and reinsurer.
Contracts of reinsurance are now exempt from the
operation of the
sub-section[74].
But at the time of the arbitration there was authority for the view that
"insurance" in the Insurance Act included
reinsurance[75]
and the parties conducted the arbitration on the basis that s 18B(1) applied to
the 1999 reinsurance treaty. For that reason the Court of Appeal did not allow
the reinsurers to adopt a different course
on the appeal, to deny the
application of the sub-section to reinsurance contracts
altogether[76].
That approach was clearly correct. The position adopted by the parties should
continue to be maintained. But that does not deny
the relevance of the
operation and effect of the 1999 reinsurance treaty as a contract of reinsurance
when s 18B(1) comes to be applied to it.
- Before
the arbitrators the reinsurers contended that the concern of s 18B(1) is
with exclusions or limitations upon what is otherwise provided as the scope of
cover. They contended that the language of the
provision implies that there be
a prima facie liability to indemnify against which a disentitlement, by way of
exclusion or limitation
by reason of some event or circumstance, operates. In
the case of the 1999 reinsurance treaty, there was no liability to indemnify
in
the first place and questions of exclusions or limitations upon it did not
arise. The scope of the cover, the reinsurers submitted,
did not include the
FAI policy. "It was the wrong sort of policy."
- The
arbitrators did not agree. They said that the reinsurers had "agreed to
indemnify Gordian in respect of losses under D&O
policies underwritten by
Gordian" and that the "reason why the reinsurance treaties did not cover D&O
policies which did not
require that claims be made and notified to Gordian
within 3 years from inception was that such D&O policies were excluded or
because the D&O policies which were covered by the reinsurance treaties were
limited." The arbitrators pointed to the wording
some of the reinsurers had
sought to add to the 1999 reinsurance treaty, to effect an exclusion of policies
issued for periods longer
than three years. Additionally, the reinsurers had
sought rectification of the 1999 reinsurance treaty terms, to limit the class
of
business covered to underlying policies having a term not exceeding three years.
The arbitrators had not considered rectification
to be necessary, given the
conclusion they reached as to the cover given by the 1999 reinsurance treaty.
But in connection with
the application of s 18B(1) the arbitrators said the
"formulation [the reinsurers] initially proposed was an exclusion, the latter a
limitation."
- The
arbitrators proceeded to address the text of s 18B(1) and its requirements. In
relation to the first part of par (a) of the sub-section, they said that the
1999 reinsurance treaty "do[es]
not cover the 3-year claims" under the FAI
policy, because the treaty was limited to policies where claims must be made or
notified
within three, not seven, years. They turned to consider whether that
exclusion or limitation was based "on the existence of particular
circumstances"
and determined that the "particular circumstance" must be that the FAI policy
allowed for claims to be made more than
three years after the inception of that
policy. The arbitrators then identified the "loss in respect of which [Gordian]
seeks to
be indemnified" as "its liability on the 3-year claims" and concluded
that it was not caused or contributed to by that circumstance
"because the
3-year claims were made and notified to Gordian within 3 years of the inception
of the FAI D&O run-off policy."
On this approach s 18B(1) operated upon the
treaty for reinsurance.
- The
only matter remaining for the arbitrators' consideration was the proviso
expressed in s 18B(1), to the obligation cast by the sub-section upon an insurer
to provide indemnity despite it being excluded or limited, namely "unless
in all
the circumstances it is not reasonable for the insurer to be bound to indemnify
the insured." The arbitrators had expressed
the view, earlier in their reasons,
that "we are comfortably satisfied that it would be reasonable within the
meaning of s18B(1), and entirely consistent with 'considerations of general
justice and fairness' within the meaning of the reinsurance treaties, for
the
reinsurance treaties to apply in relation to the 3-year claims." At the
conclusion of their reasons they explained that they
had construed s 18B(1)
consistently with its remedial character in reaching their conclusion and that
"[i]f at large, 'considerations of general justice
and fairness' would produce
the same result."
- The
considerations mentioned by the arbitrators are contained in s 22(2) of the
Commercial Arbitration Act 1984
(NSW)[77],
which provides that where the parties to an arbitration agreement agree, in
writing, the arbitrator "may determine any question
that arises for
determination in the course of proceedings under the agreement by reference to
considerations of general justice
and fairness."
The Supreme Court appeals
- Section
38(2) of the Commercial Arbitration Act provides that, subject to sub-s
(4), an appeal shall lie to the Supreme Court of New South Wales "on any
question of law arising
out of an award." Sub-section (3) provides that on the
determination of such an appeal the Supreme Court may confirm, vary or set
aside
the award or remit the award together with the Supreme Court's opinion on the
question of law. Sub-section (4) requires that
unless all other parties to the
arbitration agreement consent to an appeal being brought, an appeal under
sub-s (2) may only be brought
with the leave of the Supreme Court. The
grant of leave is conditioned by sub-s (5), which provides:
"The Supreme Court shall not grant leave under subsection (4)(b) unless it
considers that:
(a) having regard to all the circumstances, the determination of the question of
law concerned could substantially affect the rights
of one or more parties to
the arbitration agreement, and
(b) there is:
(i) a manifest error of law on the face of the award, or
(ii) strong evidence that the arbitrator or umpire made an error of law and
that the determination of the question may add, or may
be likely to add,
substantially to the certainty of commercial law."
- In
the Supreme Court, the primary judge (Einstein J) determined both the question
of leave and the substantive appeal at the same
time, an approach which was
considered by the Court of Appeal to be
incorrect[78].
The error of law identified by Einstein J was the failure by the arbitrators to
recognise that the agreement by the reinsurers,
to extend cover under the 1999
reinsurance treaty to include Gordian's D&O policies issued for up to three
years, was not a limitation
or exclusion in the sense contemplated by s
18B(1)[79].
His Honour granted leave, allowed the appeal, set aside the Award and ordered in
lieu that Gordian's claim be dismissed, and made
orders for costs.
- The
Court of Appeal allowed Gordian's appeal from those orders and did so by
reference to the requirements of s 18B(1) of the Insurance Act and
s 38(5)(b) of the Commercial Arbitration Act. Allsop P, with whom
the other members of the Court (Spigelman CJ and Macfarlan JA) agreed, did not
revisit the arbitrators' findings
on the construction of the 1999 reinsurance
treaty. His Honour held that leave should not have been given by the primary
judge on
the ground that there was an error of law on the face of the Award,
concerning the application of s 18B(1), which was manifest within
the meaning of
s 38(5)(b)(i). His Honour was assisted to this conclusion by a concession made
by the reinsurers on the
appeal[80].
His Honour further held that there was not strong evidence of error as required
by s
38(5)(b)(ii)[81].
- Two
matters not dealt with by the primary judge, but which were raised by the
reinsurers on the appeal before him, were considered
by Allsop P. The first
related to the requirement in s 18B(1) that the loss in respect of which
indemnity was sought was not caused
or contributed to by the circumstance giving
rise to the exclusion or limitation; the second related to the sufficiency of
the reasons
given with respect to the proviso to the sub-section.
- Allsop
P considered that there may have been an error in the reasoning of the
arbitrators on the firstmentioned point, in the way
in which they dealt with the
loss suffered by
Gordian[82].
This assumes some importance in these proceedings. However, his Honour did not
consider that it qualified as an error for the
purpose of s 38(5)(b)(i) or (ii)
of the Commercial Arbitration Act. The question of causation of loss was
not a question of law, in his Honour's
view[83]. If
there was an error of law, his Honour considered that it was neither manifest
nor strongly arguable as
such[84]. The
arbitrators' reasoning, whilst not following a conventional approach, was
nevertheless
defensible[85].
- On
the second question, the reinsurers had argued that the reasons given by the
arbitrators were inadequate for they had not dealt
with the inquiry in the
proviso, and nor had they explained why it was reasonable in all the
circumstances to hold the reinsurers
bound to indemnify Gordian. However,
Allsop P considered that the proviso involved an "ultimately evaluative task
after all relevant
facts had been found", and that no further explanation was
required[86].
That conclusion was reached by his Honour after
consideration[87]
of cases and materials concerned with the provision of reasons by arbitrators
and, in particular, what had been said in that regard
in Oil Basins
Ltd v BHP Billiton
Ltd[88]
and Bremer Handelsgesellschaft mbH v Westzucker GmbH (No
2)[89].
The issues in these proceedings
- Section
29(1) of the Commercial Arbitration Act requires that, unless otherwise
agreed in writing by the parties to the arbitration, an arbitrator make an award
in writing, sign
it and include in the award "a statement of the reasons for
making the award." The reinsurers have been granted special leave to
appeal to
this Court concerning the sufficiency of the arbitrators' reasons as to the
proviso in s 18B(1).
- The
reinsurers also seek special leave to appeal concerning the question whether the
arbitrators were wrong to conclude that s 18B(1)
applied given (i) the
terms of the 1999 reinsurance treaty and (ii) the requirements of causation in s
18B(1), namely whether the
loss in respect of which indemnity is sought was
caused by the event or circumstance in which the liability to indemnify was
limited
or excluded (grounds 5 and 6). If this leave were granted, Gordian
would contend that the arbitrators should not have found that
the 1999
reinsurance treaty, in its own terms, operated only to give cover to policies
having a three year limit.
- Logically
the starting point is the construction of the treaty. It is anterior, and
essential, to any consideration of s 18B(1).
The second question is whether
s 18B(1) applies. The answer to these questions may determine whether that
as to the sufficiency
of reasons concerning the proviso is reached.
The 1999 reinsurance treaty – its operation
- Gordian
no longer seeks to challenge the Award on the basis of an error concerning the
arbitrators' understanding of the general
industry practice of providing cover
for a period of 12 months for this type of insurance. The concession is well
made. The error
to which Gordian points concerns what was actually agreed
between the parties. But this may not involve a question of law.
- Gordian
contends that its letter of 15 December 1998 to its broker requested multi-year
cover and this was understood and accepted
by the reinsurers. This follows, it
is put, because the letter was attached to the placing slip. The letter was
also initialled
and stamped by each reinsurer. Thus, on Gordian's argument,
what was agreed was not just multi-year cover to a three year limit,
but
extended to policies written by Gordian for any number of years beyond one
year.
- In
the letter of 15 December 1998 it was said that the writer did not have a copy
of the 1998 treaty to hand, but recalled that:
"there was a limit on the treaty that it would cover original contracts issued
for 12 months plus odd term [sic] but not to exceed
18 months in all. This is
certainly the case pertaining to USA/Canada risks as set out in the 'PINA
Special Clause.'"
- The
letter clearly enough concerned Gordian's wish to write D&O policies of up
to two to three years, for it said:
"Multi year contracts have gained popularity in recent years and we are
frequently asked to write for periods of two to three years,
usually as a
stretched aggregate over the terms or on annual limits basis. In some cases, we
are asked after the first year of a
multi year contract to 'roll forward' the
contract for another year so that a new (2 or 3 year) period
commences."
And it said that Gordian's competitors were able to offer such policies and that
Gordian had been offering such policies "within
[its] retention". It was in
this connection that Gordian said that it needed to "obtain reinsurers [sic]
agreement to use the treaty
capacity to write multi year contracts and would
appreciate [the then lead reinsurer's] comments on this issue, including under
the
'PINA Special Risks Clause.'"
- The
letter does not suggest, in terms, that Gordian was seeking reinsurance on
policies it wrote which had a reporting period of
longer than two to three
years. Policies having longer terms may well have been relevant to the
reinsurer's premiums and would have
been likely therefore to have generated
correspondence on that topic. Westport's quotation one week later stated that
original policies
"[u]p to three years is acceptable. PINA Clause to be
amended." Gordian's submission that the maximum of three years was referable
only to the PINA clause is not supported by the construction of the statement
nor by the terms of the letter of 15 December 1998
to which the quotation was
responsive. Clearly enough what was sought was to amend both the terms of the
policies Gordian might
write and the PINA clause. It cannot be said that the
arbitrators were in error in the conclusion they reached.
The application of s 18B(1)
- Because
the construction and application of s 18B(1) are attended with some difficulty,
it is necessary to have regard not only to
the language of the sub-section but
to its context, general purpose and
policy[90].
"Context" here is used in its widest sense, to include the mischief to which the
provision is
directed[91].
As Dixon CJ observed in Commissioner for Railways (NSW) v
Agalianos[92],
matters such as general purpose and policy, and the consistency and fairness of
operation of a provision, are surer guides to its
meaning than the logic with
which it is constructed. These observations are apposite to any formulaic
application of the words of
s 18B(1), without regard to its intended
purpose.
- Section
18B(1) is directed to the indemnity provided by an insurer and to the
circumstances in which any exclusion or limitation
affects that indemnity. Its
language does not suggest any concern with the means by which the exclusion or
limitation is achieved.
It extends to any means by which the indemnity is "so
defined". This presents something of a difficulty for the reinsurers' argument
that the sub-section requires that there be a liability to indemnify in the
first place, which is then made the subject of an exclusion
or limitation.
Within the terms of the sub-section, the exclusion or limitation may be provided
within the definition of the cover,
or indemnity. As Allsop P observed, these
are largely matters of drafting. If a circumstance is perceived to increase a
risk, it
can be dealt with by a wide insuring clause combined with a limitation
or exclusion clause or the insuring clause can itself be framed
to exclude the
risk[93].
- The
reinsurers' further contention, that the sub-section is intended to regulate
provisions that operate by reason of events occurring
after the entry into a
binding contract of indemnity, also encounters difficulties. It relies upon the
exclusion or limitation being
expressed as dependent upon events or
circumstances happening in the future. But an exclusion or limitation may
itself operate differentially.
A limitation may operate after an insurer's
obligation to indemnify has arisen; an exclusion operating by way of exception
may prevent
the obligation to indemnify from arising at
all[94].
- More
important, to the operation of s 18B(1), is the event or circumstance which
gives rise to the exclusion or limitation, and the
relationship between that
event or circumstance and the loss which would otherwise be the subject of the
indemnity. The purpose
of the sub-section is to prevent unfairness to an
insured by the denial by an insurer of an indemnity, where there is no real
connection
between the loss which would otherwise be the subject of the
indemnity and the circumstance giving rise to the exclusion or limitation.
It
achieves that object in those circumstances by negating the exclusion or
limitation so that the indemnity operates.
- The
indemnity provided by the 1999 reinsurance treaty was with respect to policies
yet to be written by Gordian, as is often the
case with modern contracts for
reinsurance[95].
The treaty could be described as "an antecedent contract for the reinsurance of
a defined portion of risks of a specified kind to
be undertaken in the future by
the
reassured."[96]
The treaty provided indemnity to Gordian, but only with respect to D&O
policies which conformed to the requirement that claims
made under them were to
be made and notified to Gordian within three years of their inception.
Conformable policies would automatically
be ceded to the treaty. In the
language of the placing slip, they would attach if made during the period of the
reinsurance.
- The
only circumstance that could qualify as a limitation or exclusion on that
indemnity was the existence of a D&O policy written
by Gordian which did not
conform to the requirement of a reporting period of three years. Such was the
case with the FAI policy.
It could be said of the 1999 reinsurance treaty that
it had the effect of excluding such a policy from the indemnity it offered
or
that its indemnity was limited, with the same result. Thus the 1999 reinsurance
treaty defined the obligation to indemnify in
the terms of s 18B(1)(a).
- The
purpose of s 18B(1) is to assess the relationship, or causal connection, between
the circumstance so identified and the loss
in respect of which indemnity is
sought. Gordian sought indemnity under the 1999 reinsurance treaty with respect
to the losses arising
under the FAI policy. But that policy is also the source
of the circumstance which gives rise to the exclusion or limitation upon
the
indemnity. It follows, on this analysis, that the connection of which the
sub-section speaks is present and the sub-section
does not apply. The
reinsurers cannot be required to indemnify Gordian.
- This
was not the approach adopted by the arbitrators. The arbitrators did identify
the relevant circumstance as the existence of
a D&O policy with a seven year
reporting period. But when they came to discuss the "loss" suffered by Gordian,
they directed
their attention to "its liability on the 3-year claims", thereby
reaching the conclusion that there was no causal connection between
that loss
and the circumstance giving rise to the exclusion or limitation. There are a
number of problems with this approach.
- It
is elementary that a reinsurer is not liable unless the loss falls within the
cover of the underlying contract of insurance and within the cover
created by the
reinsurance[97].
It is the FAI policy which is the source of Gordian's loss and therefore the
basis for its claim to indemnity under the 1999 reinsurance
treaty. But,
without more, this does not make claims made under the policy the subject of and
within the indemnity provided by the
treaty. Gordian's loss for the purpose of
the treaty is not to be equated with its liability under the FAI policy. As
Dixon J explained
in Australian Provincial Assurance Association Ltd v
Producers and Citizens Co-operative Assurance Co of Australia
Ltd[98],
the liability of a reinsurer does not follow from the mere existence of a
primary liability in the reinsured. "It arises from the
provisions of the
contract of reinsurance, and depends entirely upon the conditions which that
contract contains. In this sense
the liability is independent."
- In
identifying Gordian's loss as its liability with respect to claims made within
three years, the arbitrators have effectively rewritten
the 1999 reinsurance
treaty and the indemnity it provided, so as to extend the risk which the
reinsurers assumed. Section 18B(1)
does not warrant such an approach. Its
remedy does operate upon the contractual rights of the parties to a contract of
reinsurance.
It is limited to removing the effect of an exclusion or limitation
upon an indemnity. That indemnity and the exclusion or limitation
are to be
found in the contract of insurance. The remedy is not to be provided upon an
initial readjustment of the terms of the
parties' agreement and in particular of
the indemnity provided for loss.
- Allsop
P recognised something of an error in the arbitrators' approach, but did not
consider that it was manifest or otherwise came
within s 38(5) of the
Commercial Arbitration Act such that it might warrant consideration of
whether leave to appeal should be granted.
Whether leave should have been granted
- The
question respecting the application of s 18B(1) concerned its construction and
that of the 1999 reinsurance treaty. It therefore
concerned questions of law,
regardless of whether the sub-section involved an inquiry as to the circumstance
giving rise to a limitation
or exclusion upon the indemnity under the treaty and
the connection of that circumstance to the indemnity for loss.
- I
agree with French CJ, Gummow, Crennan and Bell
JJ[99] that
manifest error of law requires that the error appear on the face of the Award,
which includes the reasons for it, and that the
error be apparent to the
understanding of the reader. Such is the case here. It does not require that
the error be of a particular
quality or that errors involving complex questions
be
disqualified[100].
- The
reinsurers' concession in the Court of Appeal, that the error could not be said
to be manifest, is likely to have been based
upon the decision in Natoli v
Walker[101].
But for that decision the concession was certainly not called for. The error in
the reasons of the Award concerning the application
of s 18B(1) to the 1999
reinsurance treaty qualified as an error within the meaning of s
38(5)(b)(i).
- The
identification of manifest error on the face of the Award does not conclude the
question of whether leave should be given under
s 38(5). The statutory scheme
is that error of the kind there referred to is a necessary, but not itself
sufficient, condition for the grant
of leave. It remains in the discretion of
the court whether leave should be
granted[102].
The other question necessary to be addressed under s 38(5)(a), namely whether
the rights of the parties to the arbitration agreement are substantially
affected by the determination of the question
of law, and the question of leave
generally, fall to be determined by reference to all the circumstances
pertaining to the case.
- The
primary judge's approach to the question of leave elided the question of leave
with the ultimate question under s 38(2) and was therefore incorrect.
Nevertheless, there was error manifest on the face of the Award, on a question
of law which was determinative
of the reinsurers' obligation to indemnify under
the 1999 reinsurance treaty and contrary to the terms of the treaty. Thus the
decision
to grant leave was correct, as was that which followed, that the Award
should be set aside for error of law.
The special leave ground
- Section
18B(1) did not apply to the 1999 reinsurance treaty. No question as to the
application of the proviso to the sub-section
arises. It is therefore strictly
unnecessary to consider whether the arbitrators provided adequate reasons on
that question. The
rights of the parties fell to be determined by reference to
the 1999 reinsurance treaty. However, special leave was granted on this
ground
and argument advanced. It is therefore necessary to say something about the
requirement of reasons.
- The
Commercial Arbitration Act does not bind the parties to an arbitration to
the outcome of the arbitration they have agreed will take place. It allows for
an
appeal, albeit one limited to a question of law and one subject to conditions
for the grant of leave to appeal. The Act therefore
comprehends something of a
public, as well as a private, element in the making of an award of arbitration.
It is in this context
that an arbitrator's "reasons for making the award" are
required, by s 29(1)(c).
- There
is nothing in the Commercial Arbitration Act, specifically in the
language of s 29(1)(c), or in the nature of arbitrations subject to the Act,
which suggests as necessary that those reasons be to a judicial standard.
But
the requirement in s 29(1)(c) cannot be devoid of content, particularly given
the context for it. Allsop P
considered[103],
correctly in my view, that a statement in
Bremer[104]
is apt to apply to s 29(1)(c). There Donaldson LJ said that a "reasoned
award"[105]
requires arbitrators to "explain succinctly why, in the light of what happened,
they have reached their decision and what that decision
is."[106]
- I
agree with French CJ, Gummow, Crennan and Bell JJ that what is required by way
of reasons in a given case will depend upon the
circumstances of that
case[107].
In this case the arbitrators could not apply s 18B(1) without determining
whether it was reasonable to hold the reinsurers bound
to indemnify Gordian in
all the circumstances. More was therefore required than a statement of
conclusion. It was necessary that
they say why it was reasonable to do so, in
order to fulfil the requirement of s 29(1)(c). The failure to do so constituted
an error
of law.
Conclusion and orders
- Special
leave should be granted with respect to grounds 5 and 6, the appeal allowed with
costs and the orders of the primary judge
restored. In these two latter
respects I agree with the orders proposed by French CJ, Gummow, Crennan and Bell
JJ.
[1] Gordian Runoff Ltd v Westport
Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74.
[2] Westport Insurance Corporation
v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2009] NSWSC 245; (2009) 15 ANZ Insurance Cases 61-798.
[3] The Arbitration Act was repealed
by s 42 of the Commercial Arbitration Act 2010 (NSW) with effect
1 October 2010, but still applies to this litigation: Interpretation
Act 1987 (NSW), s 30.
[4] Wanganui-Rangitikei Electric
Power Board v Australian Mutual Provident Society [1934] HCA 3; (1934) 50 CLR 581
at 601; [1934] HCA 3; Kay's Leasing Corporation Pty Ltd v Fletcher
[1964] HCA 79; (1964) 116 CLR 124 at 142-143; [1964] HCA 79;
Insight Vacations Pty Ltd v Young [2011] HCA 16; (2011) 85 ALJR 629 at 635 [30];
[2011] HCA 16; 276 ALR 497 at 504-505; [2011] HCA 16.
[5] These provisions no longer apply
to reinsurance: Insurance Regulation 2009, cl 4(b).
[6] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 102
[150].
[7] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 104
[160].
[8] Cf Melbourne Harbour Trust
Commissioners v Hancock [1927] HCA 26; (1927) 39 CLR 570 at 585-586, 590-591;
[1927] HCA 26.
[9] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 364-365 [51].
[10] See the remarks of
Brennan J in Waterford v The Commonwealth [1987] HCA 25; (1987)
163 CLR 54 at 77-78; [1987] HCA 25.
[11] (1992) 26 NSWLR 203
at 225-226.
[12] (1986) 6 NSWLR 327
at 333.
[13] Section 3(1) and
Sched 1.
[14] [1979] 2 NSWLR 257
at 260-261.
[15] [1979] 2 NSWLR 257
at 261.
[16] See the discussion by
Sheller JA in Promenade Investments Pty Ltd v New South Wales (1992)
26 NSWLR 203 at 216.
[17] Pioneer Shipping Ltd v BTP
Tioxide Ltd ("The Nema") [1982] AC 724 at 741.
[18] [1979] 2 NSWLR 257
at 262.
[19] (1989) 6 BCL 219
at 221.
[20] Ridler v Walter [2001]
TASSC 98 at [9].
[21] (1992) 26 NSWLR 203
at 217.
[22] [1982] AC 724
at 739.
[23] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 92-95 [102]- [113].
[24] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 126 [304].
[25] (1994) 217 ALR 201
at 215-217, 223.
[26] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 106 [178].
[27] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 95 [116].
[28] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 106 [173].
[29] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 107-108 [186].
[30] (2007) 18 VR 346.
[31] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 114 [220].
[32] [1981] 2 Lloyd's
Rep 130 at 132-133.
[33] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 366 [54].
[34] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 364 [50], 367 [56].
[35] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 367-368 [57]-[58].
[36] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 367 [57].
[37] Mustill and Boyd, The Law
and Practice of Commercial Arbitration in England, (1982) at 552.
[38] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 353 [28].
[39] (2007) 18 VR 346
at 353-354 [29].
[40] See Roncevich v Repatriation
Commission [2005] HCA 40; (2005) 222 CLR 115 at 126 [27]- [28], 139-142 [76]-[82];
[2005] HCA 40.
[41] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 106-107 [180]- [181].
[42] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 119 [257].
[43] [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74
at 119 [258]- [259].
[44] Vitol SA v Norelf Ltd
[1996] AC 800 at 813-814.
[45] At [25]-[27].
[46] The facts, circumstances and
relevant legislation are set out in the plurality judgment. The abbreviations
it employs are employed
below.
[47] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 123 [280] per Allsop P,
Spigelman CJ and Macfarlan JA concurring.
[48] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 122 [274]- [275] and 123
[280] and [282].
[49] Driclad Pty Ltd v Federal
Commissioner of Taxation [1968] HCA 91; (1968) 121 CLR 45 at 64; [1968] HCA 91.
[50] [1996] AC 800.
[51] [1996] AC 800 at 813-814.
[52] [1996] AC 800 at 814.
[53] Pioneer Shipping Ltd v BTP
Tioxide Ltd [1982] AC 724 at 736. See also Pilgrim Shipping Co Ltd v The
State Trading Corporation of India Ltd (The "Hadjitsakos") [1975] 1 Lloyd's
Rep 356 at 361 per Roskill LJ and 366 per Sir John Pennycuick.
[54] On a closely related question
– the role of intention in determining whether trusts have been created
– compare Saunders v Deputy Commissioner of Taxation [2010] WASC
261 at [22] with Byrnes v Kendle (2011) 85 ALJR 798; 279 ALR 212; [2011]
HCA 26.
[55] For example, the House of
Lords: Pioneer Shipping Ltd v BTP Tioxide Ltd [1982] AC 724 at 736.
[56] Byrnes v Kendle [2011] HCA 26; (2011)
85 ALJR 798 at 820 [101]; [2011] HCA 26; 279 ALR 212 at 238.
[57] Pacific Carriers Ltd v BNP
Paribas [2004] HCA 35; (2004) 218 CLR 451 at 461-462 [22]; [2004] HCA 35; Toll (FGCT)
Pty Ltd v Alphapharm Pty Ltd [2004] HCA 52; (2004) 219 CLR 165 at 179 [40]; [2004] HCA
52.
[58] [1978] 1 Lloyd's Rep 357.
[59] [1978] 1 Lloyd's Rep 357 at
362.
[60] [1978] 1 Lloyd's Rep 357 at
363-364.
[61] The Law and Practice of
Commercial Arbitration in England, 2nd ed (1989) at 82.
[62] Mustill and Boyd, The Law
and Practice of Commercial Arbitration in England, 2nd ed (1989) at 74.
[63] The Law of Reinsurance in
England and Bermuda, 2nd ed (2004) at 762-763 [14-15].
[64] (1995) 125 FLR 346 at
355-356.
[65] Cf the authorities cited at
[82] fn 55-57.
[66] Cf Administration of Papua
and New Guinea v Daera Guba [1973] HCA 59; (1973) 130 CLR 353 at 405, 446 and 459; [1973]
HCA 59.
[67] See above at [96]-[101].
[68] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 125 [291].
[69] Professional Indemnity North
American clause.
[70] The period was later extended
to 30 June 2000.
[71] New South Wales Law Reform
Commission, Community Law Reform Program: First Report – Insurance
Contracts: Non-Disclosure and Misrepresentation, Report No 34, (1983) at 31
[4.17].
[72] New South Wales Law Reform
Commission, Community Law Reform Program: First Report – Insurance
Contracts: Non-Disclosure and Misrepresentation, Report No 34, (1983) at 53
[7.34].
[73] New South Wales Law Reform
Commission, Community Law Reform Program: First Report – Insurance
Contracts: Non-Disclosure and Misrepresentation, Report No 34, (1983) at 52
[7.33].
[74] Insurance Regulation 2009
(NSW), cl 4(b).
[75] HIH Casualty & General
Insurance Ltd (In Liq) v R J Wallace [2006] NSWSC 1150; (2006) 68 NSWLR 603 at 615 [26].
[76] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 116 [239].
[77] This Act has been repealed by
the Commercial Arbitration Act 2010 (NSW), s 42.
[78] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 95 [113].
[79] Westport Insurance
Corporation v Gordian Runoff Ltd [2009] NSWSC 245; (2009) 15 ANZ Insurance Cases 61-798
at 77,418.
[80] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 95 [116].
[81] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 106 [172].
[82] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 106-107 [180]- [182].
[83] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 107 [182].
[84] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 107 [183].
[85] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 107 [184].
[86] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 109 [198], 110
[200].
[87] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 109-111 [199]- [207], 114
[220].
[88] (2007) 18 VR 346.
[89] [1981] 2 Lloyd's Rep 130.
[90] Project Blue Sky Inc v
Australian Broadcasting Authority [1998] HCA 28; (1998) 194 CLR 355 at 381 [69]; [1998] HCA
28.
[91] CIC Insurance Ltd v
Bankstown Football Club Ltd (1997) 187 CLR 384 at 408; [1997] HCA 2.
[92] [1955] HCA 27; (1955) 92 CLR 390 at 397;
[1955] HCA 27 (referred to with approval in Project Blue Sky Inc v Australian
Broadcasting Authority [1998] HCA 28; (1998) 194 CLR 355 at 381 [69]).
[93] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 104 [163]; see also
Clarke, The Law of Insurance Contracts, 6th ed (2009) at 584 [19-1A].
[94] Wallaby Grip Ltd v QBE
Insurance (Australia) Ltd [2010] HCA 9; (2010) 240 CLR 444 at 459 [35]; [2010] HCA 9.
[95] Colinvaux's Law of
Insurance, 9th ed (2010) at 739 [17-005]; Edelman et al, The Law of
Reinsurance, (2005) at 6 [1.15].
[96] Tariff Reinsurances Ltd v
Commissioner of Taxes (Vict) [1938] HCA 21; (1938) 59 CLR 194 at 215; [1938] HCA 21.
[97] Hill v Mercantile and
General Reinsurance Co Plc [1996] 1 WLR 1239 at 1251; [1996] 3 All ER 865 at
878; Wasa International Insurance Co Ltd v Lexington Insurance Co [2010]
1 AC 180 at 199 [35] per Lord Mance, 209-210 [59] per Lord Collins of
Mapesbury.
[98] [1932] HCA 34; (1932) 48 CLR 341 at 363;
[1932] HCA 34.
[99] At [42].
[100] At [45] citing Natoli v
Walker (1994) 217 ALR 201 at 215-217, 223.
[101] (1994) 217 ALR 201.
[102] Promenade Investments Pty
Ltd v New South Wales (1992) 26 NSWLR 203 at 225-226 per Sheller JA.
[103] Gordian Runoff Ltd v
Westport Insurance Corporation [2010] NSWCA 57; (2010) 267 ALR 74 at 114 [220].
[104] [1981] 2 Lloyd's Rep
130.
[105] See Arbitration Act
1979 (UK), s 1(5).
[106] Bremer
Handelsgesellschaft mbH v Westzucker GmbH (No 2) [1981] 2 Lloyd's Rep 130 at
132-133.
[107] At [53].